Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
As the title suggests...
Also, I was thinking of putting a sorcerer on a palanquin, but it only has 1 wound...
and he has 2, won't it die so quickly?
The easiest way is to probably take the chubby Nurgle sorcerer on foot and stick a backpack on him.
I was wondering that about the palanquin myself, so no help there. -.-
Yes- I use the chubby Nurgle sorceror and I have him painted very grim looking, but have always wanted to grind down the tall hat and give him a bald head. Maybe after other projects are completed I will get to that...
It is therefore not relevant how many wounds it has, as you always hit the character and not the Palanquin - much like Cavalry models.
I don't think that you get the +1 armour save like you do from cavalry and monster mounts, but what you do get is a Look out sir roll in an infantry unit =)
Why no 'Look out sir!'?.
Its an infantry model in an infantry unit. I don't see any rules that says that infantry riding infantry becomes another Troop Type.
If it was listed as Warbeast or Monstrous Beast it would be a different story.
On the other hand the BRB of course says that a character riding a mount with a single wound is cavalry, but we have already seen that this rule is not consistent when it comes to Juggers, and since the Palanquin is listed as Infantry I'm not sure that its intended to 'be turned into' cavalry like this. I still think the RAI at least is that the Palanquin is an upgrade to the character that does not change his Troop Type or armour save.
Last edited by Filthor; November 14th, 2010 at 09:34.
The question is, does being Mounted make you Cavalry per default? If not, you could claim the bonuses for being mounted (+1 to save, mount being able to attack) and still be considered Infantry. Not sure what is intended there.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
So I don't think its possible to get the armour save bonus without accepting one of these categories.
While being mounted on the Palanquin does not change your troop type, it does change your base size, which matters when it comes to the Look Out Sir rule. It's the same reason that an Orc hero does not get a Look Out Sir in a Goblin unit.
As far as the +1 Armour Save goes, the chaos lord can also take a chariot, which is not counted as cavalry, and he still gets +1 to his save, so why not the Palanquin? It is listed under the mount section on page 118, so why wouldn't it, everything else there does.
Back when Juggers and Daemonic mounts were cavalry, they got look out sir in knight units and they definately aren't the same base size as knights. If they couldn't get the 'Look out sir', then the whole discussion on the juggers troop type would have been for nothing.