Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can I give an exalted hero or chaos lord a halberd and lets say a sword of battle? Would it effectively make it a "halberd of battle" sharing the benefits of each?
I wish!!! But sadly, no you cannot. On page 501 of the 8th edition rulebook, under the heading "IM USING THIS ONE" it says: "A character that has a magic close combat weapon cannot use any other close combat weapons (his magic weapon is his pride and joy, and he's sure as sunrise going to use it)". Even with normal weapons, you cannot combine an extra hand weapon with a halberd, etc...
I understand what you mean by "i'm using this one". I read that as the character has a halberd and a sword of battle and is choosing which one to use. To explain better against the unit of goblins he uses his halberd but when he charges the orcs he switches to his sword of battle. The character is noraml equipped with a hand weapon right? If I spend the points for the sword of battle his hand weapon becomes a sword of battle right? So if a spend the points to give my hero a halberd and than spend the points to give him a sword of battle, wouldnt the halberd becaome a halberd of battle? I don't see it as much different than a hero with an axe on the model getting a sword of battle and now it being referred to as an axe of battle. Please don't take this as argumentative, I'm just trying to clarify my question and where I am coming from.
Sure, no problem :-). If you equip a character with a magical weapon, he still has a hand weapon but doesnt use it unless his magical weapon gets taken away or broken (there are some characters who can do that such as Malakeith from DE). If you have a Halberd as well, then when the magical weapon gets taken away, he has a choice to use his hand weapon, or his halberd, but before his magic weapon gets taken away, he will have to use only the magic weapon. For clarification, the hand weapon, the halberd, and the magic weapon, are all different weapons, and you must use your magic weapon exclusivly until it gets taken away (it rarly happens though).
Hope I solved your problem,
If you like the idea of crafting weapons or armor you should definately try drawfs! They can have some fabulous equipment that can be very tricky to predict. Thanes are especially good value for a T5 hero and still have some fancy rune combo's.
Sona si Latine loqueris.
Thank you very much for the response. It makes sense. I don't necessarilt agree with the rule as GW writes it, but hey, what can we do right? WoC is for me, especially since I dropped a ton of money already on the models lol. Making a large fluff army. Going to put in the army list section. Please comment. Curious to hear opinions.