Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Do you have to decide what lore you're taking with Book of Secrets before the game starts, or do you get to pick when you roll for magic since it is random?
Exact wording on the book is "The bearer knows a random spell from the Lore of Fire, Shadow or Death (player's choice)..."
Read the FAQ
I did before I posted and didn't see anything
Yep it was the wrong FAQ, tyvm question answered
Since we know that a sorcerer is a "wizard who worships chaos", and we interpret this as anyone with the Book of Secrets thus being a Sorcerer and thus able to take arcane items and sorcerer only gifts.
The real question is: If a lord takes the book, and has a mark, should he not then be forced to randomly choose the spell from the appropriate chaos god ? And since they have done away with the "random" part in the errata, would this not mean that you could choose the signature spell. Personally I vote yes, but I dont think this is what was intended with the book, nor do I have any idea what GW would think.
Any takers ?
As it makes you a Level one wizard I'm pretty sure that means you can take Arcane Items (like a spell familiar, Dispel scroll etc).
As for the marks..... The book gives you access to 3 Lores and you pick which one you want. It doesn't say you get access to a Marked Lore, just the named ones. Think of it as an instructional manual. The instructions let you cast Shadow, Death or Fire. There's no instructions on how to cast any of the marked Lores in there, so how would they guy know them?
Sir Borak, as much as I am inclined to believe your thoughts about the book, and I am not disputing them, I am merely stating the facts of the WoC armybook:
Pg. 106: "The term Sorcerer is used to describe Wizards who follow the Chaos Gods"
By that logic, a lord who takes the book, and under the errata now is a lvl 1 Wizard, becomes a Chaos Sorcerer. Which also means he can take Sorcerer Only chaos gifts.
Pg. 106: "Sorcerers with a Mark of Chaos always generate spells from the Lore appropriate to that mark..."
By that logic, a lord with the book would *have to* generate spells from the appropriate lore, if he had a mark, even though the faq for the book says he would choose from Shadow, Death or Fire.
Edit: My great issue being - that I belive you are right in the intentions. But recently Ive seen so many rulings from GW on their own rules (the being able to roll as many power dice as you want, as long as the pool never has 12 at any given time being the top of my list of daft interpretations), that I would not dismiss a fact of notes from an armybook, simply because logic dictates that that was not what GW had in mind.
Last edited by Wrathchilde; March 23rd, 2011 at 00:21.
Lets be honest now. None of us know GW's actual intentions with this item. Even if there was any!! You could probably argue it RAW so you'd get the chosen Marked Lore or you could do RAI as what I think would happen..........or even vice versa!
I asked LO and all my mates, two of which are GW managers, and they all have my train of thought so that's how we use it. However if you and your group sees the rules from another angle then crack on with that view point.
There's no definate ruling from GW as far as I know so it's all we can do
Again . . . read the FAQ. It states that a level 4 wizard who takes the book is treated as a level 1 wizard who knows a single spell. I don't have my rulebook on me, but I'm fairly sure it says that wizards get one spell per level.
Clearly the book overrides all normal rules, if they had intended it to allow for marked spells it would have been included in the wording for lore choices (may use the lore of fire, shadow, death, or their mark-appropriate lore).
I have more faith in GW's wording in this edition. it states exactly which lores a character with this can take so no go on marked lores. To do so would be taking the approach of "it doesn't tell me I can't", which is always in poor tastes IMO.
It should also be noted that while it is commonly accepted on these forums that the book allows for arcane items to be taken by non-wizard characters, i personally don't feel that this is the case. again it's an exception to the main rules that is implied rather than explicitly stated, and as such is not very sportsmany.