Welcome to Librarium Online!
In the latest paperback rulebook (page 161) a disc of Tzeentch's troop type is war beast (W.
However (page 104), a character riding a mount with 1 wound counts as riding a cavalry mount . Furthermore (page 84), if a character is riding a WB the model uses cavalry rules .
Does anybody know OFFICIALLY which troop type a disc rider is, and most importantly which units it can join or benefit by "Look out sir!"?
Last edited by talismanictattoo; March 30th, 2011 at 23:33. Reason: double post
Speaking of vague,
While page 97 prohibits characters from joining units of flyers, it doesn't rule out the opposite unless there's a monster involved. Where does it say flying characters can't join units? Seems a pretty obvious loophole...
woah hold the phone! I assumed it would be in the flier section, but it's not! No other mention of fliers in the index either. . . . . Could this be a 7th edition assumption?
Considering that it took me 8 taimes to re-read the FAQ to find the revised MoN rules I may have missed it somewhere myself. Someone please answer the man, where is the rules? It's been 40 minutes and I can't find anything!!!
Addon: The magic item Arybian Carpet (sp) states that it can make a model fly but it cannot join units. the fact they have to state that and it doesn't happen by default seems to imply that it isn't actually stated in the rulebook, and we are just a bunch of old timers that can't keep up with the changing times.
Last edited by talismanictattoo; March 31st, 2011 at 02:11. Reason: addon
Indeed, a flying character can join a none flying character, but a flying character can't join a flying unit. Still thinks its stupid that a flying character can't join a flying unit.
Wow, god point.
It only states that flyers ae skirmishers, so unless skirmishers can't join flyers I don't see a problem.
One thing that makes this idea less than ideal is the following;
Units made up entirely out of models that can fly can move or charge normally on the ground, using their movement value, or instead choose to fly.
You can thusly deploy your discs in units, but they can't move 4 or 8 inches with the rest.
This does help with deploying!
Maybe if you have 2 units, they can bounce between units.
In the skirmish section is does say characters on mounts can't join skirmishers.
It doesn't state that flyers are skirmishers, only that multiple flyers in a unit use the skirmisher rules. If there is only one flyer in the unit then the Skirmish rules are not used.