Welcome to Librarium Online!
If your Chosen has the Terrorbanner and favored of the gods, and you bless it with a warshrine, then you get to reroll any roll from 9-12, right? But you dont get to reroll a roll of 2 or a roll of 7, do you? - since that particular reroll only counts during the primary roll when the Chosen enters the game, right?
Thats leaving you with only 30% to get a reroll when you use your shrines, and only a 15% of getting the oh so wanted ward save.
Or am I misunderstanding something here?
That all depends.
Are we talking pre-game roll? or Warshrine blessing roll?
In the pre-game case, you get to re-roll eye is closed (7) and Stupidity (2).
So should you get 3, 6 or 8 simply use Favor to move to 2 or 7 and you get a re-roll.
With the Shrine it's different.
The favor specifically states you don't get to modify a natural 2, and the chosen don't get to re-roll a blessing from the Shrine. So you are stuck with it.
I'd suggest you re-read the rules for the Chosen, the Favor and the EotG table again.
It has been typed out repeatedly on this forum, I suggest you do some tread searching for the EotG results.
Prime - He says blessing with a warshrine in his first sentence. Someone does need to go back and read more carefully and it isn't the OP
Tashin - You are correct, the 9 and 10 are both re-rollable from the warshrine. and You are correct, the re-rolling of 2's and 7's is only for the initial roll for chosen.
I think what you are missin is that you get to re-roll previous results on the EOTG with each warshrine you bring. Lets say you score a 4 on your initial roll, now a result of 3 and 5 are re-rollable on warshrine rolls as you can move the result to 4 and re-roll. If you have multiple warshrines you can set up your results for a higher chance of re-rolls.
So I'm not sure if you factored that into your math. no one seems to post their formulas so it is hard to say. I'm not a math major but I know one and I'm very skeptical of the numbers thrown out by people on the forums. People make the argument that the chances aren't that great but if that were true than the last 6 games I've seen this combo use less than 5 times the ward would have been granted, and that is how many times it happened.
Thanks for the reply both of you. I admit that I am very confused by the EotG-rules and actually might need to read it a few more times before fully understanding it (up until a few months ago I honestly thought that all your characters gained a free EotG-roll before the battle startet).
I tried a big block of Chosen last night, when I had a game against DarkElves, and even though I didnt get the Wardsave, I ended up with a pretty tough S5, T5, A4, MR3 (as defence against his metal wizards) unit, so I guess that the warshrine-chosen combo could work. The only thing is, that you really need to put alot of points into it, and thats not really something that I like.
Anyway, thanks for helping me out you guys.