Character builds - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Age
    34
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Character builds

    Just need a yes or no to the following question. Are the builds below legal?

    Exhalted hero
    Mark of Slaanesh
    Steed of Slaanesh
    Shield
    Halberd
    Talisman of Endurance
    BSB

    Sorceror Lord
    Mark of Slaanesh
    Chariot
    Infernal Puppet
    Talisman of Preservation
    Word of Agony
    Sword of Might

    Chaos Sorceror
    Mark of Slaanesh
    Shield
    Dragon helm
    Talisman of Protection
    Dispell scroll

    Thanks in advance. I know these might not be the best builds. plying VERY fluffy with my friend. Not saying I don't appreciate advice, it just might not be used.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Vanish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chaos Waste
    Age
    32
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x1)

    No

    Exalted = perfectly legal.

    errata:
    Q: Can a Standard Bearer use a weapon that requires two
    hands? Can he use an additional hand weapon? (p94)
    A: Yes to both questions.

    Sorcerer lord: Legal, nothing out of the ordenary. magic items within point limit, gift within lord point limit. all good.

    Chaos Sorcerer: not legal.

    Chaos sorcerer does not have the option for a normal shield. We do however have the option of giving them a Magical shield (since they have chaos armour as starting equipment thus, wearing armour (p501) )
    So either switch out the dragon helm for the charmed shield, or redo your magic items on this guy in order for the enchanted shield. (remember to use the pointvalue on enchanted shield listed in the army book, not the rulebook for enchanted shield)

    so we really only have 2 options for shields for our sorcerers. charmed or enchanted shield.
    Quote Lord Borak
    Now now lads. This is a forum about grown men playing with toy soldiers. Lets be adults please.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Papa_Wheely's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Southern California
    Age
    29
    Posts
    401
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    33 (x1)

    The Sorcerer Lord is not quite legal because a character cannot have a different mark than that of his Chariot. It's a cheap fix, just add the mark to the Chariot. Other than what has been mentioned above, I think that everything is legal

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    774
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    92 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Vanish View Post
    charmed or enchanted shield.
    and Chaos Runeshield

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Age
    25
    Posts
    24
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I'm confused now, out sorcerers can't have shields because we don't have the option for normal shields in our army book although we can wear all types of armour but because we can wear all types of armour we can now use shields ? isn't armour armour and shields shields ? if we can wear shields how do we work out the cost when theres no price in our army book ?

    =)

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    We can't bring mundane shields because they are not listed in the Chaos Sorcerer section like it is for Exalted Hero. We can bring anything from the magic armor section (which includes shields) because Chaos Sorcerers come with Chaos Armour. Other wizards that do not come with armor or have the option to be upgraded with armor cannot be equipped with anything from the magic armor section because they are weak and complain about "Magical Interference."

  8. #7
    Benevolent Dictator CaptainSarathai's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    inside your head
    Posts
    9,221
    Mentioned
    77 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1480 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Cairnsy View Post
    I'm confused now, out sorcerers can't have shields because we don't have the option for normal shields in our army book although we can wear all types of armour but because we can wear all types of armour we can now use shields ? isn't armour armour and shields shields ? if we can wear shields how do we work out the cost when theres no price in our army book ?
    If they aren't listing something as an available upgrade in the unit entry of your armybook (in this case, 'Shield' in the Sorcerer unit entry) then you can't purchase that upgrade. Just like our Sorcerers can't have Halberds, Great Weapons, Additional Handweapons, or the Mark of Khorne. It's simply not available.

    However, we can take magic armor from the Armory, which includes shields. The Sorcerer is allowed to carry a shield, but he's not allowed to carry a mundane shield because they never thought of adding that option in the armybook.

    The rule that Vanish was referencing is the rule about taking items from the Magic Armor category on a Wizard. Only wizards who are wearing or have the option to wear armor in their profile, are allowed to take items from the Magic Armor category. In our case, we're wearing Chaos Armor, so we get to take magic armor and shields from our armories.
    Pts Values for AoS here!

    Nippon Armybook: Isuu, Scribd, and free at Google Docs

  9. #8
    Member Vanish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chaos Waste
    Age
    32
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Papa_Wheely View Post
    The Sorcerer Lord is not quite legal because a character cannot have a different mark than that of his Chariot. It's a cheap fix, just add the mark to the Chariot. Other than what has been mentioned above, I think that everything is legal
    actually I can't see why he can't take a chariot on his sorc. You have the option of taking a chariot as a character upgrade, replacing one of the two crewmembers, and there's no option of giving the chariot a mark if you pick it as a character mount.

    * must have appropriate Mark of Chaos
    there's no * next to the chariot.

    haven't checked errata tho.
    Quote Lord Borak
    Now now lads. This is a forum about grown men playing with toy soldiers. Lets be adults please.

  10. #9
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Rugby, UK
    Posts
    1,062
    Mentioned
    10 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    131 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by CaptainSarathai View Post
    because they never thought of adding that option in the armybook.
    Just out of interest - Technically that isn't the reason. In fact, it's a leftover from the previous editions of Warhammer where all spellcasters couldn't use "mundane" armour at all (this goes back to the days of dwarves having wizards BTW!). That included shields and is why the rule about them is still the same today - also it's partly to do with fluff. I read an article a few years back where (quite rightly some would say) one of the games design blokes pointed out that spell casters couldn't effectively cast difficult spells when carrying a hand weapon (or staff) and a shield. They had a point.


    The rule that Vanish was referencing is the rule about taking items from the Magic Armor category on a Wizard. Only wizards who are wearing or have the option to wear armor in their profile, are allowed to take items from the Magic Armor category. In our case, we're wearing Chaos Armor, so we get to take magic armor and shields from our armories.
    Quite correct. The magic shield/armour should not be viewed as such but as an intrinsically magic item which of course a wizard can carry. (That's why it's the exception to the rule on shields in general).
    Last edited by Fantasticmrfox; May 19th, 2011 at 15:18.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Blackheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Long Island, New York.
    Age
    38
    Posts
    815
    Mentioned
    18 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    115 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Fantasticmrfox View Post

    Quite correct. The magic shield/armour should not be viewed as such but as an intrinsically magic item which of course a wizard can carry. (That's why it's the exception to the rule on shields in general).
    Right, it clearly states in the BRB that magic items are not WYSIWYG. The exact example they use is the ogre sword, the character usign it doesn't have to actually have a sword and you can call it the ogre ax for all you want. The point is you're taking the magic item that has characteristic xyz and applying it to a character. So instead of it being a charmed shield we can call it a charmed boot. In the end you're taking the charmed item and it's benefits.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts