Stand and Shoot question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member Lolthien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Age
    39
    Posts
    382
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    Stand and Shoot question

    What situation makes it so archers cannot stand and shoot as a reaction (barring odd spells or magic item effects). In the book it says something like "You can't take a stand and shoot reaction if the charging unit is within half it's charging distance"

    Does that mean half the distance a unit could move normally? Or half the distance after your roll on a 2D6 as a charger? Or half your total movement plus 12 (the max charge distance)?

    I have a feeling I'm taking a hell of a lot more stand and shoot reactions than I should have to.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    They can't stand and shoot if they are within move distance, four inches for warriors/seven for knights. So if warriors are four inches away from what they're charging, that unit cannot stand and shoot.

    If you cause terror they gotta take a panic test.

  4. #3
    The Future realitycheque's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Bedford, UK
    Age
    37
    Posts
    4,848
    Mentioned
    8 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    403 (x8)

    The 'half' is referring to the old rules, where you charged twice your movement in inches.
    My Deathwatch Campaign
    Furious Angels: (SM) W22, D1, L9 (BA) W15, D0, L3 | Sentinels of Saphery (HE) W3, D0, L0

  5. #4
    Member Vanish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chaos Waste
    Age
    32
    Posts
    222
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    31 (x1)

    The "Half" is as mentioned above, 4 for your infantry, 7 for knights. (your normal move is the distance a normal marchmove would take you),so if you are within 4, with your infantry when you issue your charge they do not get to make a stand and shoot unless they have the special rule "Quick to fire"
    It is also worth mentioning that if you "charge" something with a spawn, scyla or a hellcannon (due to rampage) the enemy you charge with these things do NOT get to make any charge reaction except "hold" (p74 random movement)
    Quote Lord Borak
    Now now lads. This is a forum about grown men playing with toy soldiers. Lets be adults please.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Lolthien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Age
    39
    Posts
    382
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    Awesome, thanks guys. I was taking shots at HALF my move distance, or anything greater than 2 inches. So this will help.

+ Reply to Thread

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts