Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok i have a rules question to do with charging
Last game i played, my hero on disc could see an enemy character hiding behind a piece of terrain, so i declared a charge against him and easily made it with my roll
however he was pressed right up against the building so although it was a frontal charge does the hero just move into his flank
Your enemy is supposed to "close the door" on a charge if you physically can't finish it, so he'd move up to you.
Pg22 of the BRB states that the enemy should try to "close the door" if the charger cannot. However, if it is impossible to bring either unit together front-to-front, then the charge fails.
So you can see him, and you charge. You start off by moving around the building with your 1 wheel, and then move until part of your base is touching his. Now you check to see which arc the majority of your unit (base in this case) is in, and align accordingly. So if you've gotten to his flank while moving around the building, you hit his flank.
The BRB is actually a little hazy on this. Some people count the arcs from the instant the charge is declared, making flank and rear charges much more rare. If this is how you're ruling it, then your charge would most likely fail, as you would have to move until you touched his base, and then he would have to wheel to bring his model into contact. However, remember, you have to remain either 1" away from terrain, or be directly in base-contact with it if it is an obstacle. Therefore he can't be more than an inch away from that building, and you should both be able to align properly.
You can always dice it out too, if you have to.
Sorry I couldn't provide a better answer.
Effectively we play it that you measure the charge distance from the NEAREST two points on both units, and all the wheeling is done for free.
he wouldn't need to wheel around it, hes a flyer, he can go over the building and into the front of the enemy. Also on a charge you do not have to abide by the 1" rule (either in relation to other units or impassible terrain [pg20brb] )
you would require 50mm of space between the front of the enemy you were charging and the building itself to fit your disc rider he would just go up and over and into the front. if there was insufficient room to fit in the front because the enemy was <50mm away then your charge would fail. Your opponent would have to be at minimum 1" away from the building, which is only 25.4mm and not enough to fit a disc between.
If the enemy was cocked in relation to the building and there was 50mm of space ANYWHERE along the front of his unit then he would close the door to you. If this was impossible due to the building, then again the charge would fail. Under no circumstances would you get a flank (or a rear) when you were in the front arc of the target.
also to clarify, you do not have to do your up to 90 degree turn at the start, you may do it anywhere along your path. ( pg20 brb ) The rules for charges are different from last version. they are pretty clear though when you work through it, you measure the 2 closest points, this gives you your charge distance, you roll your dice and add your M, this is your charge range. If charge range > charge distance then success! else Fail.
after the roll has been made and its deemed you are successful, distance has nothing to do with the move. (pg20again)
you have to follow the rules for movement and move your disc rider to touch the model in such a position that when door's are closed neither are obstructed by the building. You do not have to aim for the center of the unit, just to touch the side you are charging.
Because you one have a single wheel, the trajectory you engage in will decide the door closing. if you are flying you have to land without touching the obstical (flyers can't enter forests either). Move him as much as possible to comply. when you cannot move any further, the charged unit must close the door. if that unit cannot close the door so that both models are aligned, than the charge is impossible and fails.
I think it's possible depending on how big the building was.