Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok so I was looking at the Chaos Knights rules and all their armour saves totals. I've got Chaos armor (4+), Shield (3+), Barded Steed (1+). Is that right? I don't have my book on me to check.
That's part 1.
1+ armour save? So they are indestructible unless the enemy strength is high enough to modify it or they have Armour Piercing (or similar special rules)? I don't have my BRB on me to check the actual rules on that so I was looking for verification.
a roll of a 1 is always a fail. so 1+ or 2+ armoursave both fail on a roll of a 1.
1+ AS is better vs str4 tho, as you will still only fail your AS on a 1, where as someone with AS 2+ would now fail his AS on a roll of a 1 or 2
Quote Lord Borak
Now now lads. This is a forum about grown men playing with toy soldiers. Lets be adults please.
Ok. So it can go to a 1+ save, but the additional save is only to modify against higher strength opponents (as you said, 1+ becomes 2+ instead of a 2+ becoming a 3+)
Yep. Either way, Chaos Knights have some lousy matchups you have to watch out for, and large numbers of troops will grind them down (especially if they bring Great Weapons). They're certainly not an "I win" button.
Also, you armor save may never start at better than 1+.... which is actually not as bad as it sounds...if you have, for example, some way to get to 1+ without a shield, then there's no reason to take one, freeing you to take a great weapon or additional hand weapon without (other than not getting a parry save, but if you've got 1+ without a shield, you probably also have a ward save) without worrying that you're reducing your protection.
IG since 1999 __ DA since 2002 __ Tau since 2005 __ SoB since 2007
Brets 1997-1999 __ TK since 2009 __ Empire since 2010
I just thought of something. You can wound a model on a 1+ in 8th edition, this would infer that Chaos Knights are auto-wounded by the Lore of Metal signature spell Searing Doom (which uses their AS to wound). Their greatest nemesis just got even nastier.
EDIT: No, never mind, I re-read the lore attribute text for Metal.
Last edited by Viktor; October 9th, 2011 at 09:35.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks