Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
OK. let me state this:
I am aware that this has been severely debated for ages.
I am of the opinion that the horses get the extra attack.
Im going to bring it up anyway.
my newest argument for horses in a unit of khorne knights getting frenzy attacks is:
pg 70 BRB "...Frenzied Troops have the Extra Attack and Immune to Psychology special rules..."
pg 69 BRB EXTRA ATTACK "A model with this special rule increases his Attacks value by 1"
pg 82 BRB "The Rider and mount use their own weapon skill, Strength, Initiative and Attacks characteristics when they attack."
pg 82 BRB "...it is treated in all respects as a single model..."
So to sum it up;
It is a single Model
It has two characteristics profiles, and thus has two Attacks Characteristics
When frenzied a model increases its Attacks Values by 1
Anywhere under the A in the line would be increased by 1
2 attacks values = 2 extra attacks.
That is all.
p.s: While writing this post i decided that the word Attacks is stupid. say it (or think it) like 15-20 times and it becomes just plain strange.
Last edited by HellcannonsRcool; November 17th, 2011 at 03:39. Reason: spellcheck
"A model with this special rule increases his Attacks value by 1" + "...it is treated in all respects as a single model..." = One extra attack, in my book.
Last edited by Tyjec'Amun; November 17th, 2011 at 08:03. Reason: Emphasis.
I think you're perfectly free to give the horse an extra attack...by taking it away from the knight
Here's the glaring flaw in your argument, hellcannonsRkewl:
"A model with this special rule increases his Attacks value by 1" in the rulebook is singular. in your argumentYou make it, without any authority to do so, plural. The book obviously awards one bonus attack per model. Would you award frenzied tomb kings chariots four extra attacks? Two for the crew and two for the horses? By your argument, finding a way to put frenzy on a squadron would be every TK player's purpose in life. Imagine, for three models, you'd get 3D6 impact hits, then 30 attacks...from three models! No, of course that's not right. Three frenzied TK chariots get a total of three, not twelve, extra attacks! Otherwise, we'd have TK reinventing the concept of "will it blend."When frenzied a model increases its Attacks Values by 1
IG since 1999 __ DA since 2002 __ Tau since 2005 __ SoB since 2007
Brets 1997-1999 __ TK since 2009 __ Empire since 2010
In the inofficial Swedish tournament FAQ, Mark of Khorne gives an extra attack to the rider whilst the Banner of Rage gives an extra attack to both rider and mount.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
it doesnt, but it bloody well should do.
This is clearly stated on page 82.
Cavelry and special rules:
If either the rider or the mount have Frenzy, then the whole model is subject to Berserk Rage, but only the element with frenzy rule gains an attack
On page 121 in our army book, you can see what special rules apply to our mounts, frenzy is not included in any of their special rules for our particular mounts, thus only the rider gets the extra attack
Quote Lord Borak
Now now lads. This is a forum about grown men playing with toy soldiers. Lets be adults please.
like vanish says, the rulebook specifically states that no, the horse does not get an extra attack
As has been mentioned ad nauseam, the Horse does not get the extra attack.
Unless stated the mount is never subject to the special rule of it's rider ie ASF etc
Brokendoll Miniature Painting - (Coming Soon)
Muse2k8's Painting Antics (WIP and Finished Models thread)
All valid points.
"Cavelry and special rules:
If either the rider or the mount have Frenzy, then the whole model is subject to Berserk Rage, but only the element with frenzy rule gains an attack"
To me this implies that if a rider had a special rule, the mount doesnt get it. Which i agree with 100%. For example, a Blood knight in the undead book has the Frenzy rule specifically attached to the rider, thus it is not transferred to the mount, whereas the mark of khorne is much more ambiguous since as written both the rider and the mount are part of the unit and so both affected by the mark.
I dont care if it has been argued 1000 times, the original post clearly stated I was aware of this. feel free to not participate in the conversation.
@Marnepup , valid point about the BRB being singular.
I also dont see how the banner can give the mount an extra attack but the mark cant.
Banner of Rage: "The UNIT with this banner has the Frenzy special rule."
Mark of Khorne: "The UNIT may have a Mark of Chaos:.."
Its good to see such an overwhelming consensus via the poll.