Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
1. If a frenzied unit wipes out another unit (massacre, no models left), do they still have to overrun (roll 2d6 as if in pursuit)? I couldn't seem to find the answer in the rule book.
2. I was pretty sure frenzy on chaos knights does NOT carry over to horses, (horses do not get an extra attack), but I was playing with an experienced player and he was convinced it does carry over to horses because the rules say "model".
Help answering these questions would be appreciated.
My understanding is if this happens on the same turns as a charge (ie: you kill every model in the unit as you charge them) then yes, you have to overrun, and can actually overrun into a second combat. But I've never been told, nor have I ever seen that overrunning after wiping the unit off the board is even legal, much less required.
But I have been wrong many many times before.
Frenzied units have to pursue, but overrun is a choice.
Horses do not get frenzy.
“If you’re in the penalty area and don’t know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we’ll discuss the options later.” – Bob Paisley
Or So I thought.
Started a discussion awhile back on a triple template build and stumbled upon this little egg:
Page 3 of the rulebook, the part that explains all the things so basic and fundamental to the game and explains them in simple detail for those who have never even seen the game before. Why would the avrage player ever stop to glance over the words and skip to the part about the complex rule he needs to learn?
Because on that page the book defines what a model is. Infact, they liked it so much that they decided to define it, TWICE!!
PG.3 "Each Model is an individual playing piece with its own skills and abilities. To reflect all the differences between such warriors, each model has its own characteristics profile."
So there it is. A Model is an individual playing piece, AND a model has it's own characteristics profile. If a MODEL gets +1 attack and it means a playing peices, the generall assumption has been correct. But if insted it expands out to a playing piece with a PROFILE, then even the horses on MoK horsemen would get +1 attack, and MoK Charriors would get +4 attacks (one for each horse and rider).
This is a new relivation for me, and as far as I can tell most other people too, as i haven't seen it referenced in any of the MoK/Banner of Rage threads i've read. Now is as good of a time as any to debate it, because from the looks of it we all could have been doing it wrong the entire time . . .
For the love of Sigmar, can we put this bullshit to bed already??!? Page 82 of the BRB reads in part, and I quote: "although a cavalry model has two sets of characteristics, one for the rider and one for the mount, it is treated in all respects as a single model"
Combine that with one bonus attack per model, and Ray Charles can see that you get ONE bonus attack. That said, if you're hell-bent-for-leather that your stinking mule is getting +1A or your name's not Mary Jane Rottencrotch, by all means, I'm not aware of any rule requiring that the rider, as opposed to the mount, take that bonus swing...
I don't mean to be a troll and certainly don't have time or energy for a flame war, but this has been definitively and conclusively closed for discussion about once a week since the dawn of time. Enough is enough. Can we have a mod pin a one-post, locked thread at the top of this forum quoting page 82 and the frenzy rule side by side so this doesn't keep coming back? Please!
Last edited by Marnepup; January 11th, 2012 at 04:03.
1 base = 1 model
Ok ok, so the rule book says the whole model is subject to b-rage but the element of the frenzy only gaines the extra att. I don't think horses worship chaos gods so I'm thinking the warrior with the mark is probably the element of frenzy. Sorry for "making up a rule."
It's a tricky question, though. I picked up that issue of a statline defining a model in the previous thread and it's left me uneasy ever since. How does that effect, say, chariots and Frenzy? How many bonus attacks do you pick up there? The various elements of the chariot all clearly have their own statline and the model is clearly not cavalry.
I wonder if the fact that characters can be targeted separately from their monstrous mounts has a bearing. They can target and be targeted separately and the one can be killed before the other. A chariot, in the other hand, for all intents and purposes behaves as a single model with a combined statline. Maybe that has relevance?
I guess that it's a question which is open to debate with your opponent. If you can't agree, then roll a dice. Tournaments should clarify their rules before you get involved.