Know Your Enemy: Scouts - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member talismanictattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    793
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    76 (x2)

    Know Your Enemy: Scouts

    So latley there has been a bit of buzz around my gaming store as someone noticed a rule that was still being used from 7th edition. This is in regards to scouts.

    In 7th edition, scouts were deployed later, but did not count towards your drops. It was only recently discoverd that provision seems to be lacking in the 8th edition rulebook.

    It's pretty big news for some of us here, many people now have to re-think brining scouts, as it almost garuntees that you will not recive the +1 for first turn.

    Is this old news for everyone else? Does anyone know of anything in the FaQ or BRB that contradict this?
    Important to know this for when we end up facing scouts.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member crazedcucco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    25
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    I'd guess scouts are ignored for purposes of determining the +1 bonus, because that seems like a significant disincentive to bring scouts, but I can't find anything in the BRB stating so. I suggest house-ruling in whatever your group is happier with, until you get a definite answer otherwise.
    ____________________________________________________________

  4. #3
    Senior Member HellcannonsRcool's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta (Canada)
    Posts
    287
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    65 (x1)

    we had this debate in our gaming club pretty soon after release. We play that scouting negates your +1 to first turn roll as it is still part of deployement.

    In 7th it specifically stated that scouts did not count towards deployment, in 8th it does not say this.

    You could argue that they forget to put it in, or you could argue that they deliberately did not. It hasn't been FaQ'd

    take these situations for example:

    Situation A:

    Neither army has scouts, one army is finished deploying before the other and gains +1 to first turn roll. Pretty straight forward.

    Situation B:

    Both armies have a single unit of scouts. As per the alternating deployment rules regardless of who sets up their regular units first, both players roll off again at the end of deployment to decide who places their scouts first. the loser would then place their unit of scouts, and the winner would have completed deployment first, thus gaining +1 to first turn.

    This is also straight forward. The scouting rule did not auto negate the players chance of getting a +1, it would only do so if he had more scouting units then his enemy, or rolled lower on the scout deployment order roll.

    Also to be noted is that it only affects scenarios that have the Alternating deployment method. as other scenarios dictate first turn in other ways, like meeting engagement for example.

  5. #4
    Senior Member talismanictattoo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    793
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    76 (x2)

    Well situation B won't ever come up for us as WoC as we lack scouts of our own. It's important that people know this information though, and we should make a point to argue it in our games. If enough people start to talk about it than it might get FaQ'd. House-ruling away from this will just continue the ambiguety.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts