Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How does Valkia fit into the EoTG stuff? Can you re roll from her ability after you've already re rolled once because you already had a duplicate?
For example, lets say you have terror. You then roll a terror EoTG result. You then get to re roll because you already had Terror. Then you roll +1 Attack. Can you then re roll because of Valkia? Then if you get another terror result, can you then re roll again?
The FAQ says you can re roll re rolls in some instances but it doesn't mention Valkia.
I'll just put up the answer I messaged you with, and people can shoot it down all they like...
That one is tough. The FAQ doesn't get into too much detail regarding how to consider the EotG reroll. It just says "Duplicate gifts must always be rerolled." The issue is, what if I have to reroll from this rule four times? Does that count as my one 'reroll'?
I would argue that Valkia's reroll could be made in addition, if you finally land on a result you don't have but you don't like. 'Rerolls' as a term of art tend to be once only and optional. Since the duplicate gift rule is neither of those (it is compelling you to reroll and gives you no option to decline rerolling), I would argue that calling the duplicate gift rule a 'reroll' at all is a misuse of the term. It is just a rule that prevents certain quantities on the dice from appearing... those results cannot, and therefore did not, happen. Since the rolls 'never happened', instead of being actual 'rerolls', you still have a reroll from another source available.
But it's by no means clear, and I could definitely see the other side. The FAQ refers to the duplicate gift rule loosely as a reroll, so I could see the argument that it should be considered one. It's something that I would discuss with your local store or friendly opponents to tackle it before it comes up in a game.
Fear me, mortals, for I am The Anointed, The Favored Son of Chaos, The Scourge of the World. The armies of the Gods rally behind me, and it is by My Will and by My Sword that your weakling nations shall fall. - Archaon, The Everchosen, Lord of the End Times
The general rule is that you don't get to reroll a reroll. So if Valkia isn't specifically named as an exception, she isn't one. You can't just say "exceptions exist, and there's nothing to say Valkia isn't also an exception, therefore I'm taking one."
I do see understand the argument that the EotG 'forced' reroll is different because it's forced, but the alternative to that would be 'if you get a duplicate, you get no further benefit,' so being forced to reroll is a good thing! Quit demanding a mile when you've been given an inch already!
In general, the ability to reroll a reroll on the EotG table is triggered by the same thing that triggered the original reroll, which is getting a duplicate result! I'm not aware of any time you have a choice about rerolling a reroll.
Last edited by Marnepup; February 26th, 2012 at 06:04.
I'd say sit in front of the mirror and try to explain to your imaginary opponent the situation you have in mind. For me it works like this:
- if I didn't liked something on the first roll - I can reroll thanx to Valkia, then I have to reroll because of "no duplicates" rule.
- if I rolled a duplicate and rerolled it to something else - I will just stick to that last result, because it will take too much time to explain all this tricky logic that it was the first roll just rerolled and now I can reroll because Valkia allows me to, and if it will be duplicate again - I will roll more... This kind of things may work against other Warriors player who knows this story.
Rofl god damn warriors of chaos. Thx for the input guys.