Welcome to Librarium Online!
In the first few sentences of the daemonic special rules it says that a character on a daemonic steed can join deamons, but I don't see anyone use this ability, is this because it sucks or nobody knows about it? also, can some of you who have used this ability (mostly slaanesh lord with mounted deamonettes, because the other deamons slow it down) tell me of their experiences???
Characters on Daemonic mounts can't join Daemonic units. Perhaps that's why.
Q. Can a mortal Chaos character mounted on a daemonic steed
join a unit of daemons?
A. No. Only a mortal character with the Chalice of Chaos
(which makes him a daemon) may join a unit of daemons.
Non-daemonic models may not join a daemonic unit.
S. Gav Thorpe - Warhammer Design Team / Hordes of Chaos
Army Book page 29
Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD
is that from one of those question and answer thingies?? in that case, point taken :p
Nowhere in the daemonic special rules does it actually say that a mortal character riding a daemonic mount can join a unit of daemons. What it actually says is that daemonic models cannot join non-daemonic units and non-daemonic models cannot join daemonic units, but, the only exception is a character riding a daemonic mount
This doesn't mean that the character can join a unit of daemons, what it really means is a character riding a daemon is still allowed to join a mortal unit.
"Peace, through superior firepower."
you can mount him on a demonic mount and make him deomic by overloading on demonic abilities.
"Heresy is like a garden weed, it won't stop feeding until you... BURN THE WHOLE DAMN GARDEN WITH A FLAMER, BURN IT, BURN IT TO HELL!!!!!" "Is there a wittle puppy in the garden? ITS A DAEMON! BURN IT!"
Um... not in Warhammer Fantasy. In 40k, yes, lords can become daemonic with too many daemonic upgrades.Originally Posted by bald inquisitor
Everyone's entitled to their own opinion, even if it's wrong.
I think a really basic answer is a character mounted on a daemonic steed does not conver the daemonic ability onto its rider. The rider is still mortal, thus cannot joing daemonic units. The Daemonic gifts in fantasy also work severely different then in 40K.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)