Mortals with beasts selection questions. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    Mortals with beasts selection questions.

    The Army book doesn't really address this, or maybe i just didn't see it. But, hypothetically:

    Say you have a mortal chaos army with beast's of chaos Allies, you've got your core mortals, but you also want chaos trolls or chaos ogres. Would they fill up a special selection? or can i not take them because they are not in the core units section of the BoC army book? Say i also want to take a unit of Dragon Ogres (or a shaggoth), would that be a rare selection for my army, would that not be allowed, or would that be a special selection?

    PS. if an admin thinks this would be better answered in the beasts of chaos forum, please move it.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    71
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Trolls, ogres e.t.c are special, whatever ur general is (mortal, beast, or daemon) not sure bout the dragon ogres

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    Whoops! just saw where it was in the BoC book, thanks TauGuy, yeah Dragon ogres still count as rares, no matter what your general is.

    Only one problem: now i have another question, though this is more for clarification: if you take a Shaggoth champion and have it be your general, does it count as a beasts general?

  5. #4
    Tyranid Warrior Fanatic Phalanx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    2,668
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    146 (x7)

    Yes it would, because its in the Beasts of Chaos book.
    40K armies: Tyranids (2001), Space Wolves (2008), Sisters of Battle (2011)
    Current Rep: 1337

  6. #5
    Tabletop Terraformer Tzeentch Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,405
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    109 (x4)

    This isn't to insult anyone's intelligence, but to clarify everything, here's a definitive list of what is what:

    Special units from the Beasts book are special, and Rare units from the Beasts book are rare, regardless of whether your army is Mortal, Daemon or Beast.

    The generals are defined as follows;
    If the character has the Daemonic special rule (regardless of the reasons why he has that rule) then he is a Daemonic general.
    If the character is a model from the Beasts book, then he is a Beasts general (this of course, includes Shaggoth Champions).
    Any other characters will be Mortal generals.

    In a Mortals army;
    Mortals are core, Daemons and Beasts are special

    In a Daemons army;
    Daemons are core, Mortals and Beasts are special

    In a Beasts army;
    Beasts are core, Daemons and Mortals are special

    Hope that clears everything up.
    "Peace, through superior firepower."

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    289
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x1)

    thanks for clearing that up Tzeentch

  8. #7
    Tabletop Terraformer Tzeentch Lord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,405
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    109 (x4)

    No problem dude, happy to help
    "Peace, through superior firepower."

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts