Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
im making a 3000pt Undivided Khorne/Slaanesh army. one of my characters is an Exalted Sorc (undivided, lvl4, Lore of Fire). items im giving are: Amulet of Chaos, Gaze of the Gods, Spell familiar. this leaves me with 10 points available for magic items. i wanted to give him an Enchanted Shield, is this legal for a chaos sorc? they wear Chaos Armor unhindered.
im looking forward to getting Flaming Sword of Rhuin and watching him cleave the unfortunate at S7 :w00t:
Wizards can't use Magic Armour, and since the enchanted shield is listed under that category - no he can't.
A character who is not allowed to wear ordinary armor cannot be given magic armor.
...Magical shields are also counted as magical armor, so you cannot have a suit of magical armor and carry a magical shield..." etc.
Warhammer Core Rulebook pg 152
so... according to the first line of the paragraph a Chaos Sorcerers normally comes with Chaos armor, therefore can use magical armor. shields count as magical armor, so therefore a Chaos Socerer can use a magic shield.
later in this paragraph it does say that Wizards cannot wear magical armor unless the item specifically states they can. however, the first line is the exception to the rule.
-Tzeench Lord model is holding one =P
Last edited by Geisticon; July 17th, 2006 at 04:59.
Im pretty sure there are no exceptions to the rule regarding wizards and magical armour (i.e. they cant have it) except for tzeentch lords/heroes.
The chaos armour the sorcerer comes with is the limit of his armour purchasing options, It is usually assumed that the magical equivalent of a mundane option (i.e. enchanted shield, normal shield) is acceptable.....however, you will notice that the sorcerer has no other options for armour upgrades either.
The chaos armour is there just because its like the chaos trademark almost.....i know it sounds silly but i think you wll find that this is how most people play it.
If you want to increase his armour save, put him on a barded warhorse....this will give him an armour save of 2+.....quite a nice save, combined with a ward save and he is well protected.
Found this (hope it helps):
Question: If a character has an armor upgrade option, but not a shield upgrade
option (the DE Beastmaster in the errata for example), can he take
magical shields, and/or magical armours that are stated to include a
shield (armor of darkness)
Source: Anthony Reynolds - Warhammer Design Team
Negatory.Originally Posted by Geisticon
Chaos armor has it's own paragraph in the chaos army book which fairly clearly discribes this situation.
The Hierarchy Chaotica: Kinky Sex > Change > Disease > Blood
98% of the population actually believes these stupid statistics. If you're part of the 2% of humanity with a brain, put this in your profile.
ok thx for the feedback!
As far as I'm aware, Chaos Sorcerers cannot have shields. Orkbert's FAQ find supports this argument. Just because the Enchanted Shield is magical, does not make it equal to a suit of magical armour. It's still a shield, and if the model has no option to take a shield, then he can't take one, not even if it's magical.
Also, I'm sure it's been ruled somewhere that the chaos armour that mortal characters come with, is not actually magical armour. It's classed as just very good mundane armour, in the same way that Dwarf Gromril armour isn't magical. Otherwise Chosen units would all be walking around in magical armour! The only one that is magic is the suit chosen from the Beasts book.
Tzeentch characters can take whatever armour they like because they are equal parts warrior and sorcerer. Chaos sorcerers are just tough spellcasters!
"Peace, through superior firepower."