Why the Horror Hate? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Why the Horror Hate?

What is the big deal with the Horror hate? I don’t understand it. Now, I’m just starting out as a player and actually haven’t played with them yet. But I’m looking at the stats and am puzzled why people don’t like them. I really hope someone can clarify this for me.

Yes, they have horrible stats by themselves. By stats themselves, they’re even worse than naked marauders. But let’s look at a full unit of 20. Yes, that’s 300 points, but look what you are getting out of it.

First, you have a wizard that has 3 spells. In other words, you have a level 3 wizard or a level 2 wizard with a spell familiar. Secondly, those spells always go off with a power of 10 (until the unit starts getting whacked). That’s equal to an average of 3 dispel dice. And against a Tzeentch army (mine has 12-14 power dice depending on which I use), can an opponent risk wasting 3 dispel dice on my unit of Horrors? And if they do, that’s 3 dispel dice that can’t hit my sorcerers.

Second, you have a unit. We all know how outnumbered Chaos can be. Though Horrors have an awful stat line, they have numbers. Twenty Horrors easily outnumber most non-horde units and will probably outrank them. That’s a 1 to 4 bonus on CR. Even a unit of Chaos Knights would be scared of losing by 4.

Lastly, you have a regenerative unit. Yes, the Horrors close combat spell only hits on a 6, but that’s an auto-kill and a Horror is automatically generated. And that’s before combat even begins.