Welcome to Librarium Online!
Obviously - close combat.
But - what ranged goes right through it? It's a really badly worded item. Should they have just said that it doesn't protect you in close-combat and that's it?
Anyways.. just need some clarrification - is there some errata?
Does it stop:
Non-magic-missiles magic-missiles - example- lore of heavens?
Spells that just do D6 hits of str blah? (Like the Death spell that hits every unit within 12 inches?)
For EVERY wounding hit from ANY ranging shot (i.e. magic, artillery, ranged, everything).
Cannon balls are a little different as they do D6 wounds for every succesful wounding hit. This means that after being hit by a cannon ball you will have a chance to save the wound with the eye. If you fail the save you then take D6 wounds.
As for magic missiles that do D6, 2D6 hits etc. The number of hits is worked out, the rolls to wound are completed THEN you may make a ward save from the eye for EVERY successful wounding roll.
Screamers are a little different. You may know that some magic weapons do damage 'distibuted as shooting hits' Screamers do this also, however, because they dont actually engage in combat then it still counts as a ranged attack and so the eye protects against them also.
Yes, it saves against bolt throwers and stone throwers.
Only attacks made actually in close combat cannot be saved against. the only exception being something along the lines of soul stealer etc that are not considered 'missiles',
Hope this clears things up a little,
Just read some warhammer chronicles article on it.
The Eye does not protect you against magic that is NOT magic missiles- examples:
Lore of Heavens spells that do d6 hits.
Lore of Death "everything within 12" takes d6 str 4 hits"
Tree Singing if you're in a forest.
Screamer attacks are also NOT protected against.
Ugh. Not as useful as I would have liked it to be.
The rules for the eye are quite simple, it protects against any regular physical shooting, ie: anything that a model has to use it's BS to hit with, and it also protects against any spell listed as a magic missile. The Eye does not protect against anything else.
You got most of it right Captain.Snowball, but you seem to have confused things a bit with regards to the Screamers. Although their special attack is distributed as shooting hits, it does not mean it actually is a shooting attack. The only reason it is distributed as shooting is because when slashing a unit, it means troopers will take the pain rather than any characters (just like shooting, keeps things simpler!).
"Peace, through superior firepower."
good and consice, the chronicles do a fine job.
E-bay helps us all!
http://search.ebay.com/_W0QQsassZss4kakerotQQhtZ-1GT Las vegas ticket available through me just pm.
Sorry T. Lord, but surely it also protects agains "guess range" weapons, not only those that use BS??
Yes it does as these still count as "missiles" so to speak. the eye doesnt do much good against a cannonball when on a disk though as cannon balls automatically hit the ridden "beast".Sorry T. Lord, but surely it also protects agains "guess range" weapons, not only those that use BS??
Also, Tzeentch Lord, my thanks for the correction,
"If a cannonball hits a model that has several parts, like a character riding a monster... blahblahblabbityblah...1-5 the [monster] is hit, 6 the character is hit." (new) BRB, pg 87.
And even if the mount is hit, the eye still gives you a ward save against the wounds inflicted, and it transfers to the mount. Unless I am BADLY mistaken.
Arena of Death Champion: Nexim of the Guldskullz Tribe. Fear my wrath!
Definately not mistaken, you are in fact spot on. The protective powers of the eye do indeed extend to the mount as well, although of course they do not extend to any unit that the character joins.Originally Posted by kooshlord
"Peace, through superior firepower."