Frenzy - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Frenzy

  1. #1
    Member FGutierrez777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles CA
    Age
    45
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Frenzy

    This question may have been posted before (if so, I never saw it), but here it goes:

    The 6th edition BRB stated that when it came to mounted units (i.e. cavalry), frenzy only affected the rider and not the mount...

    But in 7th edition, frenzy now affects the entire model (rider and mount)...that being said, in the Hordes of Chaos army book, it states in the various Mark of Khorne descriptions to "remember that frenzy does not affect the mount" (obviously in reference to the original ruling found in 6th edition when the current HoC army book was around)...as such, does frenzy affect the Khorne knight's mount or not?!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    I hate Ultramarines RobtheGuru's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Wales, UK
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,297
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    57 (x3)

    While at my local GW, someone pulled out an errata and showed me that no, this rule does does apply to Khorne, therefore, only the rider is frenzied.

  4. #3
    I suck... Maiden neck... cebwj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark (DK)
    Age
    27
    Posts
    836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    could we get a link, because it says "remember", as in a reminder refering to the rulebook?
    Also the rulebook was released AFTER HoC.
    -lurking in the shadows of LO.

    Officially diagnosed by Tekore
    Melkhior, Necrarch Lord

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Age
    25
    Posts
    68
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    at my shop we have said that the new rule book trumps the codex. The codex does only say remeber because it wants to you remeber the rule. It's not stating something new, or a particular rule. And check if the errata is for 7th ed.

  6. #5
    Member Kage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    We can't know for sure until the next book comes out though :sleep: .
    Gullible isn't in the dictionary...check if you don't believe me.

    Army: Mortal Tzeentch (HoC)
    W:1 D:0 L:0


  7. #6
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kage View Post
    We can't know for sure until the next book comes out though :sleep: .
    Or you can know for sure if you read the FAQ for the main rules on the GW website. It states that since HoC says mounts don't benefit...they don't benefit.

    GW Online : News : Errata


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  8. #7
    Member FGutierrez777's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Los Angeles CA
    Age
    45
    Posts
    70
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Rork View Post
    Or you can know for sure if you read the FAQ for the main rules on the GW website. It states that since HoC says mounts don't benefit...they don't benefit.
    Which is precisely what I question: the wording in the HoC army book seems to refer to what was ruled in the 6th edition BRB (i.e. frenzy only affects the rider)...was this GW's intent when they wrote the words, "remember that" in the HoC army book...if so, then IMO it should be nullified due to the 7th edition ruling on frenzy...afterall, the errata says that all calvary mounts and the like, do get the bonus attack...:cry:

  9. #8
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by FGutierrez777 View Post
    Which is precisely what I question: the wording in the HoC army book seems to refer to what was ruled in the 6th edition BRB (i.e. frenzy only affects the rider)...was this GW's intent when they wrote the words, "remember that" in the HoC army book...if so, then IMO it should be nullified due to the 7th edition ruling on frenzy...afterall, the errata says that all calvary mounts and the like, do get the bonus attack...:cry:
    The FAQ clarifies that HoC is right - The rules as written say they don't benefit, and the FAQ backs that up.

    Remember that army rules can override core rules.


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  10. #9
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by FGutierrez777 View Post
    Which is precisely what I question: the wording in the HoC army book seems to refer to what was ruled in the 6th edition BRB (i.e. frenzy only affects the rider)...was this GW's intent when they wrote the words, "remember that" in the HoC army book...if so, then IMO it should be nullified due to the 7th edition ruling on frenzy...afterall, the errata says that all calvary mounts and the like, do get the bonus attack...:cry:
    There is no ambiguity, Rork is correct.

    See in the 7th ed main rulebook errata it tells you exactly what you are wondering. Open the errata pdf file and run a search for the word 'frenzy', it's the first hit

    Edit: I see you beat me to it Rork

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

  11. #10
    Member Kage's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Oh...whoops, wasn't paying that much attention...I just checked the FAQ's...sorry.
    Gullible isn't in the dictionary...check if you don't believe me.

    Army: Mortal Tzeentch (HoC)
    W:1 D:0 L:0


+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts