Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
CAn the Moonstone of Hidden Ways be used to telelport a unit DIRECTLY into combat? THe description say that you may teleport into another woods, as long as you are wholly with in it at the end of the move. If you can engare an enemy unit, and still be with in the woods, there's nothing I saw in the BRB that says otherwise- ie, combat only being iniated by a charge, staying one inch away if you move could take you further... so on. So could this be used as a Wood Elf Skitterleap, teleporting say a Noble and 8 wardancers directly into combat?
In order to engage an enemy unit in combat, you must charge them (usually) - you must be able to see the enemy unit and declare a legal charge against them. Since you are in a position to do neither of these things when you activate the moonstone, you cannot charge. Also, since the Moonstone is activated at the end of the Movement Phase, your chargers have already moved.
There are some items and abilities that change the fact that you must charge an enemy to enter combat with them, but these are always very clearly noted (fanatics, chaos spawn, etc.). Even Skitterleap notes that it puts the teleported unit 1" away from any enemy units, and so doesn't teleport units directly into combat.
The Eshin Skitterleap; however, lets you put them into combat. Also, there is a paragraph in the rulebook (I'm at work so can't reference the page number) that sates that other abilities can cause charges, and charge reactions can have special things along with them, it's under the 1" away rule if anybody can check. Basically, what it comes down to is that the Wood Elf book isn't explicit enough on the placement inside the woods...
There are abilities and items that can cause out-of-sequence charges, but these are always explicitly noted in the description of the item or ability. Unless an item or ability specifically declares otherwise, combat follows the normal set of rules - in this case, since the moonstone offers no such exception, it is used at the end of the movement phase, and is therefore unable to bring the unit it teleports into combat.Also, there is a paragraph in the rulebook (I'm at work so can't reference the page number) that sates that other abilities can cause charges, and charge reactions can have special things along with them
Granted, it would be very cool if the Moonstone could be used in such a way, but there's just nothing in the description of the item to support it. That the description is non-specific combined with the fact that the rulebook states that there are exceptions to the charge rule just isn't a strong enough case to make for its use to bring your unit into combat.
Of course, there are those who believe the Moonstone can be used in your opponent's movement phase since it carries the non-specific qualifier "the end of the movement phase." This belief opens the door for some creative tactics - such as being charged by an enemy, using the Moonstone to teleport out of the combat, teleporting 2" away in the same woods (since the Moonstone does not specify that the woods must be separate), and, in the next Wood Elf turn, charging the enemy that had just charged them (If there are opponents out there who are willing to let Wood Elf players get away with such blatant rules-lawyering, they're not among my typical opponents. :shifty. Even in this case, however, is it acknowledged that, given the movement sequence, the Moonstone cannot be used to bring the unit directly into combat.No, but if an item allows you to bend or break what is otherwise a hard-and-fast rule, it will be explicit about it.Basically, what it comes down to is that the Wood Elf book isn't explicit enough on the placement inside the woods...
You still must "charge" to enter combat.
Spells and other special rules that allow out of sequence charges are still charges.
Nowhere in the moonstone description does it say you may charge an enemy unit so you cannot. It would specifically state that you could.
You cannot enter combat with an enemy by touching them, you must charge. If this would happen then you play the units 1" apart.
Alright then, it would have been helpful for an upcoming tourney, but since it isn't a "charge" there's no contact when you jump...
The only way you could really do it is to teleport in and then use the spell "Call of the Hunt" to get the extra move and hopefully charge in. But unless it explicitly states that the effect can "count as a charge" then it can't.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.