Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In the wardancer kindred entry, it is stated that they gain the wardancer weapons special rule. It is also stated that they cannot take any MAGICAL weapons not labeled as wardancer characters only. That's the fine and dandy part.
However, the wardancer weapon entry states that "... to represent this, all wardancers gain +1 attack. IN addition, they add +1 to strength to all attacks they make in the first round of combat when charging". However, it does NOT state that this is in effect regardless of all other armament, like the eternal guard fighting style does, or that they count as being armed with these weapons, just that they gain +1 attack and +1 strength on the charge. Since the rules allow me to take any non magical weapons i want, does that mean i can take any normal weapons listed in conjunction with the wardancer weapon rule?
Last edited by arishnakoger; August 31st, 2007 at 23:24.
you can take other equiptment, but you can't use them both in the same turn...
Plus if you argue that then by that same standard, you can ride on a tank in 40k.
ps. you can't because my brother emailed games wrkshop about it...
note that if what i believe is true, i wouldn't take advantage of that. that would be just too much of a stretch.
It is important to remember though that wardancer weapons is a special rule that does not confer armament to the user, only a stats boost.
By the way, i did actually wonder at one point if units in 40k can ride on top of vehicles
They get "wardancer weapons" which count as two hand weapons.
plus why would you want to give your wardancer lord other weapons?
Yeah but you cant so it dosn't really matter
I wish you could though.
Okay, you have a Wardancer character. The Wardancer character is armed.
How is the Wardancer character armed? He is armed with Wardancer Weapons, per his adherence to that rule as noted in his kindred.
What does having Wardancer Weapons entail? It states (paraphrased) that Wardancers arm themselves in a variety of ways, all of which confer +1 attack and +1 strength on the charge.
The examples of varied armament include swords (hand weapon), glaives (hand weapon), and double-handed swords (great weapon). So giving him a great weapon keeps him within the realm of Wardancer Weapons. Please note that this list of weapons is not all-inclusive, and the Wardancer Weapons will always take precedence over purchased mundane weapons.
Since you can't just shut off a special rule when you want to, he couldn't opt not to have the rule and instead to get the strength bonus of a great weapon. He is armed with wardancer weapons, and they provide the only benefit he can get from mundane weapons.
Wardancer characters are plenty deadly just the way they are.
That's what I thought, but I thought I should leave a loop hole out there so just in case I hadn't heard of a legit way around it, I didn't look like a fish out of water. Thanks for the input Cyric! :happy:
That's what i thought
Then what's the point of saying that the character can buy mundane weapons if they do nothing? Were the rules writers spoons?