Welcome to Librarium Online!
I was reading in the best wood elf moments that the player charged a unit with dryads, cast treesinging at the unit, then destroyed it in close combat. I was under the impression that you can't cast treesinging at an engaged unit. Was I wrong?
I don't think you can. Unless it specifically states can be cast into combat, you can't use it in combat or direct it at a unit in combat.
that's the way I understand it.
That was me that wrote that in the best moments post. My friends and I just got into this game so that might have been a rule fluke. Regardless of playing it wrong, my friend stays out of my woods now.
"...and thee shall know the Emperor's might when thy enemies fall before thy guns. No crude Orkish blade can pierce thy anointed armor, nor any twisted alien resist the sting of thy sword." ~Major Kaelen Rhodes
I dont have my book at my side, but I believe the spell says it can be cast on any unit within a wood. I cant recall a specific time, but I think Ive cast it into combat before without objection from anyone.
Current Wood Elf Tourney List: 3/1/3
yes treesinging can be used to hit units that are in close combat.
Having looked it up, I would have to say that it is illegal as the rules for casting on page 107 say "Wizards cannot cast spells at units engaged in close combat, unless the spell only affects the caster himself or the spell's description specifies otherwise."
As there is no exception listed in treesinging, I would have to say that you can't do it.
this is true, but if you read the spell of treesinging, the spell is not targeting the unit, but it is targeting the forest, it just happens that the unit gets hit after this, acrording to the spell. =)
Good point, although I think that may be parsing the language a little to much. Not sure which way I would lean now.
welli have used treesinging to criple unit engaged with my dryads as well, and this was at a GT where i got a ruling, cause all my opponet did was complain.
Then I will accede to your experience. Guess I will be able to surprise a few of my opponents in the future. As to the question in the origianal post, I can now answer it. I was wrong. Thanks for the info.