Welcome to Librarium Online!
Getting into Warhammer after a very long time and i was reading the armies book and I have a question about tree singing that i bet has been asked a lot.
When you move a wood with tree singing and it makes contact with an enemy unit will it also inflict damage on that unit because in the rules it says it can alternatively inflict hits. it looks like you can't do both.
If i have a 2k tree spirit army that i can cast tree singing 5 times a turn can i move the wood with my first tree singing and then inflict hits on that same unit with the other 4 or will the first also inflict hits or can I only cast it once on the same set of trees?
I hope that makes sense.
In short, no. In Long, Tree singing allows you to either:
move a forest around, providing there is no enemy inside, and stopping just before contacting other terrains or units.
Does damage to a unit at least partially within the forest.
Therefore, you won't be able to move a forest up to a unit and then start hurting them, nor could you move the woods with the unit inside them, then hurt them(though why you would anyway...).
One instance of Treesinging can't do both but there is no reason why one of your wizards couldn't cast treesinging to put an enemy into contact with the woods and then have another cast treesinging as well on the same woods, but this time offensively. :C
Except Trodi that you cannot get them in the forest. You have to stop just before you contact the enemy unit. Otherwise it would be treesinging FTW.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
So hang about, you cant move the trees onto a enemy unit so whats the point of the damage bit of the spell, who in there right mind is going to go in a wood with that spell running around?
Consider, however, using treesinging in conjunction with fury of the forest. Move the trees close and hit them with the harder version of the spell.
"...and thee shall know the Emperor's might when thy enemies fall before thy guns. No crude Orkish blade can pierce thy anointed armor, nor any twisted alien resist the sting of thy sword." ~Major Kaelen Rhodes
Please also remember that it is the only spell in the game that can actually *move* terrain. (Not destroy. So what though, right?)
Plus, if you're lucky enough (my friends try to keep forests off the terrain choices when we're setting up tables) to get more than 2 forests on the board, you get your free 6" wood with Woodland Ambush. You have 3 woods on the table. Just line the trees right along the center and his ranked units can barely move. Slower units would have to pivot, move, pivot just to be facing you, and by then you can just sing the trees right back in front of him. The spell fits the Wood Elf creed perfectly: "If you cant shoot, harass"
Treesinging. So good.
Smart players dispel tree-singing. Always
Take advantage and smirk a bit everytime you play someone who doesnt know the power of Treesinging. Because they wont let you do it again next game.
So true on that point. I have one guy attempt to use the rune of spell breaking on my treesinging, because I was gonna destroy his big unit of Slayers.
Luckily he failed and I destroyed the unit for 3 turns, before my treeman waltz in and made some Slayer Smoothies.
Who wants one.
Sunday 20th July Wood Elves vs. Brettonians
Mission: Flank Attack (Brettonians attacking)
Score: Wood Elves - 4181
Brettonians - 0