Welcome to Librarium Online!
I wonder about the spirit sword how usefull it might be v.s. undead. However I have a few questions that even the FAQ didn't mention.
Can the victim of the spirit sword use the general's leadership or the leadership of a caracter joined to the unit?
In theory, i understand yes as this is what the rule says about caracters in units. But it still doesn't make sense since it represents the caracter controlling the unit (not the mind). I mean the unit will uses his leadership when the WHOLE unit is concern (psychology test, break test, rally, ...). The spirit swords attacks the carcteristic of a model in the same way as if he had to test toughness or initiative.
If you have any arguements please post.
The rules for the General state that for all Leadership-based tests, everyone can use the General's Ld value.
It just depends on whether this is a test or not (I'd say no) as to whether the General can be brought into things.
I would say no as it is not a leadership test per se. It is an opposed roll to use a DnD term so each person would have to use their own leadership value.
I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.
surely it makes sense. That sword becomes much more interesting.
The FAQ doesn't address it.
I'd say you can't use the general's leadership for the same reason that sirkently says. It's only a test if he has to roll his dice. He doesn't in this case, and page 5 of the BRB says he rolls the dice for a ld test.
So no bonus from the general as I read it.