Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey .. just started to play warhammer, and going for wood elves ..
i have some problems with Spirit Sword..
after doing damage, i roll bla bla bla, is that per wound i gave or 1 time per combat round .. and if he looses with 3 for instance, will there die 3 in a normal regiment?
im going for alter noble, HoDA, helm of hunt.. branchwrath + cluster..
any suggestions for a lord and a BSB in a 2000 point army ??
I've used the spirit sword a few times.
The way I understand it is if a model receives on or more wounds deals more wounds to that model, depending on what happens with the dice.
Two wounds on the same model will not cause two tests. Several wounds on several different models will make multiple tests.
Like wise, the wounds work like wound multipliers. When targeting a unit, the unit does not take the extra wounds from the spirit sword, only the models in the unit do.
That means that you can't use it's ability to deal allocate extra wounds to other models in a rank and file unit; you just will have dealt more wounds to each model that dies than you needed to.
You also won't receive any overkill bonus for extra wounds dealt to these models, unless you are in a challenge. Additionally, those "extra wounds" won't generate combat res if you are fighting one wound rank and file troops, because they didn't have more than one wound to lose to begin with.
Basically, you hit a rank and file unit four times, you deal four wounds. If they don't save, you might make them explode a bit more (or explode yourself), but won't generate extra wounds on the unit or extra combat res.
Basically the spirit sword's auto-wound ability will always benefit you; and its leadership rule will benefit you against characters and monsters.
Its too expensives... if roll against your LD was plus 1, then maybe it would be worth the risk, or if it could be used with the Regeneration armor, it would be fine. But its to risky.
The Wood Elf FAQ explains it.
Here's a link, if it works.
Okay, far simpler, but still true.
oki, thanks for the replies =)
I was reading the text wrong and figured that you did the leadership roll off for each wound in a one-on-one battle between characters, but it appears that you only roll off once no matter how many wounds are unsaved.
So if your Highborne was fighting a unit of Ogre Bulls, and he caused three wounds, he would roll off three times, causing up to a maximum of three wounds to each Bull.
If he was fighting a single Ogre Tyrant, and he caused two wounds, he would only roll off one time. If it was a challenge, then the Highborne can cause overkill wounds.
However, why would you not do the roll off against rank-and-file one wound models? So if a Highborne swings the Spirit Sword at a unit of Empire Swordsmen, and causes three wounds, shouldn't he still roll off for each wound? Any extra wounds against each individual Swordsman would be wasted and not count towards combat resolution, but if the leadership roll off went against the Highborne, he would take the additional wounds. No?