Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This hasn't come up yet, but i wondering what the answer is. Here's the situation;
I take Orion and put him a unit of wild riders. I charge a unit of zombies. I lose the combat by one. The wild riders have to take a break test, but Orion is unbreakable and takes a wound (unless he's with 6" of some trees)
The wild riders fail their break test and flee.
The zombies have a rule called shambling horde, instead of a persuit or overrun rule. A normal just fights Orion and can nothing about the wild riders. Do the zombies get to inflict damage on the wild riders as they flee, and still fight Orion?
The wording is quite clear - "Zombies never pursue ... enemy units fleeing from contact suffer..."
The presence of Orion has no effect on the Zombies' rule - they wouldn't move forwards even if Orion wasn't there. The net result is that the Wild Riders take damage and Orion stays in base contact.
Though, to be fair, you'd have to do something spectacularly stupid or else be ludicrously unlucky for Orion and a Wild Rider unit to lose to Zombies. Doesn't mean it can't happen though.
It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
Thanks Vespasian, i was just checking. You're right, i reread it and the wording is clear.
I originally thought the shambling horde rule was the zombies replacement of flee/pursue, but it's not