treesing in combat question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Member Maximus-Prime's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Groningen, the Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    101 (x3)

    treesing in combat question

    Ok, I tried searching, and looking for the faq/errata to no avail (seriously where are they?)

    This might sound lame but i really need an answer.

    Can you (WE) treesing a unit (dmg version) if its in combat in the woods?

    I doesn't say, un-engaged, but neither does it say can be cast into combat.
    Im confused.

    My WoC assembly/paint log! check it out. UPDATED 03-11-'11!
    Check out my guide on how to make Treekin.
    Please feel free to correct my spelling.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Dago's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Age
    46
    Posts
    104
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    In my group you can, I even did it in a tournament. But nothing official.
    Dago

  4. #3
    Senior Member sirkently's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,361
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    494 (x8)

    I would say no it can't. Every spell that can be cast into combat specifically says, "can be cast into combat" or something similar. Since treesinging doesn't say this, and no errata has said it can, I would have to say no.

    SirKently
    I am right 94% of the time, why worry about the other 3%.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by sirkently View Post
    I would say no it can't. Every spell that can be cast into combat specifically says, "can be cast into combat" or something similar. Since treesinging doesn't say this, and no errata has said it can, I would have to say no.

    SirKently
    Yep, I'd agree with SirKently - I'd definitely be looking for that text to answer a question like that, and after a while you get to notice not just what GW does say, but also what it doesn't...!

  6. #5
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by sirkently View Post
    I would say no it can't. Every spell that can be cast into combat specifically says, "can be cast into combat" or something similar. Since treesinging doesn't say this, and no errata has said it can, I would have to say no.

    SirKently
    Quote Originally Posted by SlyEli View Post
    Yep, I'd agree with SirKently - I'd definitely be looking for that text to answer a question like that, and after a while you get to notice not just what GW does say, but also what it doesn't...!
    Exactly. Spells can be cast into combat only when their description explicitly states so.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  7. #6
    Member Maximus-Prime's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Groningen, the Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    101 (x3)

    So that would mean I can't stand in the woods waiting for my opponent to charge me, stand and shoot (im a treeman in this situation), and then in my phase zap the living crap out of them before crushing them in combat?

    My problem with cannot be cast into combat, is that you target the woods, and not the unit.

    I just played a tournament and nobody said anything about it, but now Im having doubts.
    I would hate it if I played illegal.

    can someone link me the errata? I can't seem to find it.
    My WoC assembly/paint log! check it out. UPDATED 03-11-'11!
    Check out my guide on how to make Treekin.
    Please feel free to correct my spelling.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    38
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I've not faced that specific example myself before, but I would read it as follows:

    On being charged you can use the Strangle-root attack to stand-and-shoot (although normal rules on being more than half the charging unit's move distance apply).

    However, once you're engaged in melee, you're in combat and can't use Tree-singing - the rule on bound spells states that it's cast just like other spells, and as previously noted, there's nothing to suggest that there's any exception to the normal rules in the spell's description.

    A complete list of official errata/FAQs is here:

    Games Workshop

    The Wood Elf-specific one is here in PDF form:

    http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_...05_Edition.pdf

  9. #8
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Maximus-Prime View Post
    So that would mean I can't stand in the woods waiting for my opponent to charge me, stand and shoot (im a treeman in this situation), and then in my phase zap the living crap out of them before crushing them in combat?

    My problem with cannot be cast into combat, is that you target the woods, and not the unit.

    I just played a tournament and nobody said anything about it, but now Im having doubts.
    I would hate it if I played illegal.

    can someone link me the errata? I can't seem to find it.
    According to the book, you're inflicting damage on a unit within the woods. I read that as the unit being targeted, not the woods themselves.

    SlyEli has it right.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  10. #9
    Member Maximus-Prime's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Groningen, the Netherlands
    Age
    31
    Posts
    555
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    101 (x3)

    cool, than thats that.

    thanks for the replys
    My WoC assembly/paint log! check it out. UPDATED 03-11-'11!
    Check out my guide on how to make Treekin.
    Please feel free to correct my spelling.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Gnomish.Id's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Space
    Age
    30
    Posts
    505
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by sirkently View Post
    I would say no it can't. Every spell that can be cast into combat specifically says, "can be cast into combat" or something similar. Since treesinging doesn't say this, and no errata has said it can, I would have to say no.

    SirKently
    I'd agree with you, except the target of the spell is not the unit in combat, it's the forest, and the forest is never in combat.

    Where I play, units in combat are still affected by AOE effects. Tree singing is more like an AOE than a target spell, (but with the woods as the Area, not a Diameter). So I'd say not being able to target into combat does not apply.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts