Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hello, maybe a silly question..
But if u equip a noble or a lord with a great weapon (+2 STr) it means u cant give it a shield right?
why do i see so many lists posted here and there with the combo:
great weapon+ shield... etc.. is there something i am missing?
hoping on a fast reply,
"Never argue with an idiot, they drag you down to their level and beat you with experience".
It also gives a variety of options depending on what you are fighting. vs weak troops a great weapon will give more chance of wounding and you will not really need a shield to boost your defences. This is especially useful with the low initiative troops like Dwarfs as using a great weapon does not make any difference as to whether they go first or last anyway. Against stronger opponents you may need the shield and hand weapon combo in hand to hand combat to protect your troops so they stay in the fight longer. I do when fighting my friend and his ogre kingdoms, as my guys don't stay around long enough to counter attack with a great weapon.
"The nature of Mon Keigh was irrepressible!"
I imagine the reason why there are a lot of shield + great wepon combos in lits is that it´s part of the setup for one of our best noble builds, the alter noble (great weapon, shield, light armour, helm of the hunt, alter kindred and hail of doom arrow)
I agree with Sigelus: options.
You can use the shield versus shooting and in the magic phase until you get in combat. Then, at the beginning of combat, you choose which weapon (set) you want to use... that decision lasts the entirety of that combat.
Giving a character a GW and shield just means you want the option of either choosing A) GW for +2 S or B ) Hand weapon and shield for +2 AS (assuming your dude has a hand weapon by default).
The tricky thing part I don't really know the answer to, especially without the rulebook in front of me at the moment, is if you choose your GW in combat... and, while still in combat, you're hit with a spell (or the like) that calls for an AS. I believe you don't get to whip out your shield real quick for the +1 AS... but please someone correct me if I'm wrong, as I said, I'm unsure.
Last edited by oneminushaus; December 29th, 2009 at 15:41. Reason: Silly smilies...
Normally you will only be using the great weapon in combat, as S4 isnt as effective at wounding things/negating armor. The shield is there for extra protection against magic and shooting.
Everyone's covered it. Shield for better armor save against ranged attacks. It also gives an option for a better armor save in combat if you decide to forgo the great weapon and opt for a hand weapon.