eternal guard ranks - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Ogre Tyrant waddywoos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Newbury + Uxbridge UK
    Age
    26
    Posts
    921
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x2)

    eternal guard ranks

    Hi,

    I was wondering about the special rules for the eternal guard? The army book says that the first rank fight with additional hand weapons, and the second rank with spears and those spear armed models get 1 attack only.

    So if the unit is 3 ranks deep, only the first two ranks get to fight? what about if it is a horde sized unit with 4 ranks? can the first 2 ranks still only fight?

    Also, does the musician and standard bearer of the unit get two attacks as well? I always assumed that they did, but they're holding an instrument/banner in one hand so I just thought i'd check?

    I read through the GW FAQ and there wasn't anything that answered my question :/

    Thanks!

    'War does not determine who is right, only who is left'
    I am President of the Brunel University wargames society - PM me if interested.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member AJ200's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Age
    30
    Posts
    375
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    If your unit is 5 men wide and 3 men deep. you get 2 attacks with front row, 1 attack with 2nd for supporting, and 1 attack with 3rd for spears. so thats 20 attacks. (but you dont get spears attack if you charged).

    If your unit is 10 men wide (horde) and 4 men deep you get to attack with all 40 men. and front row gets 2 attacks. So 50 attacks. (but you dont get spears attack if you charged).
    - Wood Elves + Orcs & Goblins since 2009 -

  4. Thankswaddywoos thanked for this post.
    Likewaddywoos liked this post.
  5. #3
    Ogre Tyrant waddywoos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Newbury + Uxbridge UK
    Age
    26
    Posts
    921
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x2)

    okay thanks very much. I was just wondering because it said and 'additional rank' attack 'as if' armed with spears, not that they were listed as having them. And it mentioned nothing about the third or 4th ranks having spears at all.

    thanks for the clarification.
    'War does not determine who is right, only who is left'
    I am President of the Brunel University wargames society - PM me if interested.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts