Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can a unit of glade guard scouts still take a standard bearer and other command?
I've asked that same question on here and never got a satisfactory reply.
To figure it out, I looked at the other scouting units in the army. Waywatchers don't get a standard bearer, and there are no other scouts.
Then I looked at the other skirmishing units. Wardancers don't get a standard bearer. And if you think about it, that a group of skirmishers would have a standard bearer doesn't make sense as they have trouble hiding a tall banner while stealthily shifting through the trees. Dryads obviously don't get one. No flying unit would take a standard (though that does kind of make sense and would look cool).
But the rules don't state anything about GG scouts not having a command, so unless the rules dictate otherwise, they can. Most units like that can have a champion, and some can have a musician, like the wardancers. So let's assume they can take one.
The next question is if that standard can be magical. Regular GG can buy a magical standard, while GG riders can not, so what about scouting GG? Can they take a magical banner, because if they can, we've all already noticed the exploit. Give a group of scouts the banner that march blocks 12" and you've got one very versatile scouting unit.
But then I can see how that is outside the spirit of skirmishing rules. Ultimately, I think it will come down to an official ruling from GW.
Okay, didn't mean to go into a treatise just to say I don't really have an answer to your question.
I don't think the issue is that complicated.
There aren't two different units, Glade Guard and Glade Guard Scouts, there are only Glade Guard.
One of the optional upgrades you can give to Glade Guard is to give them the Scouts and Skirmishers rules for 5 points a model--very much like giving a weapon or armour upgrade to any other unit. There is no reason at all to assume that Glade Guard upgraded in this way lose anything (aside from the Glade Guard Longbows rule, which is specifically stated).
So, yes. Unless an FAQ is released stating otherwise, you can definitely take a standard (or even magic standard) in your Glade Guard Scouts.
Originally Posted by Bean
hence the reason ye banner of marchblocking would be fun
return of the mighty SNAKE MAN!
I don't see that as being such a bad thing. Your paying 17 points a model for at the smallest a 5 man unit, and on top of that your paying for a standard and magic standard. It's going to be more than 100 points running around for 5 toughness 3 models with no armor or special saves. At least they can move and shoot without penalty I suppose. Good tactical unit though.
I know already: they can.
And yes, we assume they can and can have a magical banner. That banner of marchblocking is made for them! No other unit can do that as good as Scouts.\
And I think they aren't called Glade Guard Scouts, but just Scouts. Short term as in the past, term we use now. Easier too.
Unless a FAQ is going to be released and stating they can't have banners, we assume they can.
Errant Squire: Heh all units of the Wood Elf army are T3, except Forest Spirits. Even Waywatchers at 24 points a model are T3. Except Wild Riders (who are Forest Spirits too).
Wild Riders are t3 as well.
WR are t3..
although its a minimum 50 point investment to make them scouts... nowhere does it say that the minimum unit size is changed
(unless im blind of course )
return of the mighty SNAKE MAN!
It says scouts become unit size 5-10.