Welcome to Librarium Online!
hi i was looking through the armybook and found the amber pendant.. my qoestion is:
if we have a character with a GW and the amber pendant, will he strike first? teh pendant says that any enemy in base contact strike last, the (lets say Noble) has a GW and strikes last as well..
:cry: who strikes first i wonder?
help me out please, thanks
Roll a dice in each case. 4+ [model] goes first. Thats usually the best way to do things.
I'm not sure that this is a case of irresistable force meets unstoppable action or whatever it is they call that rule. I think this is the whole purpose of the pendant.
And the noble with the GW wouldn't necessarily go first. THe enemy unit not in btb with him would go first, then the noble, then the models that he's in btb with go last.
This would function much like two characters with great weapons in combat. So their are three cases.
1) Noble (and unit he is with) gets charged in this case the chargers strike first with the exception of those that are in base-to-base with the noble. Then any non-strike last models in the nobles unit. Then the noble and models he is in base-to-base with go at initiative order.
2) Noble (and unit he is with) charges the noble and his unit strike first and the opposing unit after.
3) Noble (and unit he is with) is in a continuing combat from the previous turn. All models strike normally. (GW last, Initiative and all that stuff). The noble and the models he is in base-to-base with attack as though they had great weapons. So when it gets to the strike last part of the combat (all models elligible to strike at initiative order have done so) then all the models left strike at initiative order. So if a noble (I 7) is in base-to-base with 2 Kniights of the Realm (I 3) the noble goes first. If the initiative is the same...say a noble vs another noble, then you go to the tie breaker (I believe it is whoever one combat the round before...and then a roll off). If the opponent has a higher initiative like a noble vs a highborn then the highborn strikes first.
That sounds like the right solution to me. Thanks. These WEs have so many kinks in their rules, worse than Ogre Kingdoms. :wacko:Originally Posted by The Green Knight
thanks guys, rep for all!
i really think i will give the item a go sometime soon
Yep, Wood Elf character wielding a GW and the Amber Pendant are nasty indead. The math doesn't always work in your favor though. In some scenarious Annoyence of Netlings is better and some a 3+ ward save works too.
Or use both!
But in any case, the wording for Amber Pendants states the target/stargets always strike last.
Well, it doesn't say that the target(s) always strike last. It says that they automatically strike last, even if they have an ablity to let them go first or have charged.Originally Posted by tanglethorn
That word automatically is ambiguous and doesn't help much. The clause hanging onto the end of the sentence isn't much help either since it mentions only two specific cases (Lahmian vamps, for instance, or charging units). I think until GW puts off the much needed FAQ, I'm going with the green knight's suggestion.
If you read the strike last rule on p89 of the warhammer rulebook, you will see that GW strike last only in situations where you would strike in INITIATIVE ORDER. Since your opponents are striking last you are not striking in initiative order meaning you strike first.