Just starting... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

8 (x1)

Just starting...

Ok, I have barly( as in today right as gw closed) decided to end my struggle to choose a fantisy army and i chose wood elves. i have not bought the codex yet-they closed the till before i could- and i am very new to the fantisy system, im coming from 40k. so i was wondering if some of you could point me in the direction that a 1000 point list should look like. if this helps, i kind of wanted something like a sentry army. thank you.

2. Remove Advertisements

Wayward, Texas
    2 Post(s)
    1 Thread(s)

1283 (x8)

Well, I don't know what a sentry army is, but what style of play do you like? The Wood Elves are very mobile and shooty. They benefit from superior archery and outstanding melee units, but their numbers tend toward the small side. They seldom gain ranks and rely on large numbers of wounds to win combat via combat resolution.

I've never played 40K, but I know a lot of people who have crossed over, one way or the other. The guys who play 40K and come to fantasy talk about how different it is. They say it's much more about maneuvering and winning combat resolution. They're used to games where every model is essentially a skirmisher, and ranked infantry are unusual. 40K-ers find themselves suddenly moving blocks of troops around, jockeying for position.

I only know one guy who went from Fantasy to 40K. He also said the game played really differently. He's a really good Fantasy player and doesn't mind stomping your ass into the ground. He's running a Tyranid army, I think.

Here are the basic options: