Wardancer Lord with Great weapon - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member Lord of Chaos Undecided's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    Wardancer Lord with Great weapon

    Is it possible to give a wardancer lord a great weapon to make him S7 on the charge (S6 normally)?

    does this conflict with the wardancer weapons special rule?

    - LoCU :shifty:

    "Now that question is less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid manner..."

    Current Armies:
    - Chaos Undivided: way too many points for my small budget
    - Empire: reliving my first army
    - Lizardmen: too many skinks dammit
    - Space Marines: who doesn't like a man in armour? lol

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO Wolf_Pack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Age
    29
    Posts
    4,630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    150 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord of Chaos Undecided
    Is it possible to give a wardancer lord a great weapon to make him S7 on the charge (S6 normally)?

    does this conflict with the wardancer weapons special rule?

    - LoCU :shifty:
    Yes it does.
    Best Regards,
    Wolf_Pack

  4. #3
    Member Lord of Chaos Undecided's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Wollongong, Australia
    Age
    32
    Posts
    34
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    can you elaborate as to why?

    the wood elf rule book says "may not wear any armour or be given any MAGICAL weapons" why would they stipulate MAGICAL and not just say any weapons?
    "Now that question is less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid manner..."

    Current Armies:
    - Chaos Undivided: way too many points for my small budget
    - Empire: reliving my first army
    - Lizardmen: too many skinks dammit
    - Space Marines: who doesn't like a man in armour? lol

  5. #4
    /botnobot/ DavidWC09's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Wayward, Texas
    Posts
    12,489
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    1283 (x8)

    This is the topic of great debate among wood elf players. I place myself in the camp that once a character takes the wardancer kindred, therefore gaining the wardancer weapons special rule, that rule takes precedence over whatever weapon he uses. I think that stating otherwise is parsing words and looking for a means to circumvent the army book's writers.
    Painting Videos--My Warriors of Chaos--WHFB Tactica Index
    *************************************************

  6. #5
    Senior Member Revlid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Age
    25
    Posts
    454
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Suffice it to say that this is one of those potential loopholes where, if you successfully exploited it in a tournie, you'd get a 0 for sportmanship. In a friendly, Sportsmanship is the only real score there is, so don't try it there either.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    13
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I tend to side with the 'no GW bonus' camp, though it is a bit vague.

    what it comes down to is that there is no allowance for a unit to 'turn off' a special ability unless it says that they can...
    as the wardancer cannot choose to ignore his wardancer weapons bonus, the GW ability doesn't ever kick in.

    So, yes you can buy him a great weapon, no it does not gain him anything.
    <er, if someone was being incredibly anal about WYSIWYG they might insist that, barring buying him the blades of loec, if your wardancer model was armed with anything other than the free handweapon that everyone gets, that he was misrepresented.>

  8. #7
    Senior Member Teron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    947
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x2)

    The St7 Wardancer is technically possible, although it is a VERY rules-lawyery interpretation, and extremely unsportsmanlike. Trying to pull it off without prior agreement will probably get you as much, or perhaps even less friends than constantly using a Steam Tank
    Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
    NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
    Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
    Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts