Welcome to Librarium Online!
Had a little disagreement in a game the other night.
If my lord is being charged and I have the option to use the Stand and Shoot reaction can I use the HoDA or the Bow of Loren.
Thanks in Advance.
I looked at pages 19 and 120 of the LRB, as well as pages 62 and 18 in the WEs book.
Nothing I read led me to think that a person can't stand and shoot with magical bows and arrows.
Magical weapons ignore any "special rules" that apply for the mundane weapon. But there is no "special rule" for a missile weapon that allows one to stand and shoot. Check pages 94-96 of the LRB, and you won't find it in that particular section. You also won't find such a rule on pages 54-55, where "Special Weapon Rules" are found, including the rule for great weapons.
For example, great weapons' strength bonus is a special rule since normal weapons don't carry a str bonus. Magical great weapons don't get the benefit of this "special rule."
S&S is a standard rule, not a special one. Therefore, you can stand and shoot with both the Bow of Loren and the Hail of Doom Arrow. Also, look at the weapons listings on pages 56-57 of the LRB. You see the boldfaced "rules" entry for each weapon, but other than pistols, there is no stand and shoot special rule for missile weapons.
I think people forget that the term "special rules" applies to very specific entries in the rule book. I know that I was confused with it at first, but once I got to digging around, it made sense.
I agree with DavidVC04. In fact I have a few use their WW noble to bait people and the blast them with the HoDA. I think it's a good tactical move.