Welcome to Librarium Online!
I couldnt find this anywhere else so i thought i'd again post another question. sorry.
In reading the rules for treesinging I was always under the impression that both the 1st and 2nd part of the spell is under an 18" range, but in reading it again it seems only the first part would fit with the 18" range reading.
"The spell may be cast on any wood within 18" of the caster, provided there are no enemy models within it ."
"Alternatively, the spell can be used to inflict D6 strength 5 hits on a single enemy unit that is even partially with a wood"
It seems to me that the 18 inches mentioned in the first part of the spell can only apply to the first part because it applies to " no enemy models." Also the word "Alternatively" implies that the first part doesn't relate to the second, and the phrase "a wood" seems to make it be any wood anywhere.
It would make sense it would work on any wood, following with the spirit of Athel Loren's attacking nature, also a level 2 spellsinger with Calaignor's Stave would virtually be able to make 4 seperate casts on enemies within wood. For example, defending your pesky waywatchers all the way across board that really can't be shot.
If anyone knows how the range works and if you need line of sight etc please reply
Glory to the WE!!!
Direwolf disagrees and so do i
Q. Does Treesinging have a range limit (18â€?) when used to deal
A. No. The paragraph break indicates the limitations of the first
paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.
S. Wood Elf Army Book page 79 / Direwolf FAQ Council Interpretation
The paragraph break seperates the two parts of the spell as they have no bearing on each other, if you just read the second paragraph"the spell can be used to inflict d6 strength 5 hits on a single enemy unit that is even partially within a wood or similar feature" then you would conclude it has no restriction.
if they added "within 18inches" to the end of that sentence i would agree with you but they didn't.
Last edited by slingbladez; December 11th, 2006 at 13:58.
Hey can you post a link to that?
I think Gamesworkshop needs to address it because it's confusing. I'm going to use it with unlimited range because I believe that's how it was intended. I believe the army book says somethign like, The Forests of Ather Loren are dangerous to any one who enters, not anyone who enters within 18" of a spellsinger//treeman.
Wow thanks. So a perfectly legitimate strategy would be plant waywatchers or scouts in wood and annoy the hell out of people and when some1 comes to get them, flee and repeatedly cast treesinging with Calaindors Stave from all the way across the board. I think im gunna have to try it haha
While I agree with most of the stuff in this FAQ and the other ones I completely disagree with this interpretation. Heres why
1. All spells in the Fantasy world have range. By range I mean the spell or ability has spelled out its area of effect. If you look at the Lore Athel Loren all spells have a range mentioned. Infact as a side note they are all 18" IIRC. However, that is beside the point. The fact that the second portion of the spell has no range should be an indication that you should be referring to the above instructions.
2. The FAQ mentions that the paragraph break determines that the limitations do not impact the second section. This is a flawed argument. For this argument to hold true you would have to be able to use the wording for the second section all on its own as the description of how the spell work. If you read the second section on its own it does not provide enough information for proper use.
3. If you read the spell you will see the wording " Alternatively, the spell can be used". It only discusses an alternate use for the spell. It does not provide an alternate way to cast the spell.
So essentially I stand by my argument that it is 1 spell that has a second effect that you may choose.
If anybody here is part of the Direwolf group please feel free to argue this with me. However, I will not join there mailing list as I have no urge to read all the emails that they generate.
The oxen Stands , no range restriction
The beasts cowers, no range restriction
Comet of Casandora, no range restriction
Healing Energy, no range restriction
Also there are spells that refer specifically to terrain such as mistress of the woods
Any unit within 12" of caster or within 12" of woods
Our spell is move any tree within 18" of caster or damage enemies within woods.
Ours doesn't let us damage outside of woods but it also lets us go out of the 18" range of our caster just like the mistress is allowed to cast it on a unit even though it is over 12" from the caster.
The damage part of the spell is basically mistress of the woods except instead of being able to hit units within 12" of the wood regardless of range, it is only within woods regardless of range.
Just because it has no range doesn't mean it isn't telling you the what you can hit "a single enemy unit that is even partially within a wood or similar terrain feature"
That tells me that i can target any enemy within a wood or similar terrain feature, and because it doesn't specify range i am able to use it anywhere on the board where that feature is.
Last edited by slingbladez; December 12th, 2006 at 04:00.
I'm going to keep my own reading of it brief. This is something that won't be definitively answered until GW puts out a FAQ (which should've been done long ago). It's ambiguous and can be argued either way.
I've chosen to err to the side of sportsmanship and use 18" for all effects of treesinging.
"The two paragraphs seem to make it infinite range.
If you were to play it as 18" range because of the initial paragraph, you must also consider this conundrum:
The first paragraph indicates a range of 18" but also a condition that there be no enemies within the woods. The second part of Treesinging can ONLY be cast if there are enemies in the woods you cast on. If you play the two paragraphs as one, you can't legally use the damage section of Treesing."
he makes a good point as the spell says "The spell may be cast on any woods within 18" of the caster, provided there are no enemy models within it."
Last edited by slingbladez; December 12th, 2006 at 17:43.