Welcome to Librarium Online!
the twilight spear in the army book doesn't explain much.
just wondering it its an error is it meant to be like that. anyway does the spear of twilight count as a spear?
if not what is another option to put on my wild rider highborn? weapon wise.
Last edited by DavidWC09; January 27th, 2007 at 03:10. Reason: fix title
do gods exist in this world? or did man just made god in his image? if you do not agree answer this, why do we portrait gods as humans? why do our gods look like us? if gods are mighty and powerful then why do they look like the weak.
i would say that it does count as a spear, as the description starts with "this spear" and the item is called the Spear of twilight. I think the confusion strts with the fact that the dawnspears' rules say "counts as a spear" to mean that it gets the +1 strength on the charge. The spear of twilight does not gain that.
It's another of those annoying problems in the WE book.
I think it doesn't count as a spear because it's not explicitly stated. If you compare its wording to other weapons, you'll find that they always say something like "counts as a great weapon" or whatever.
This one doesn't.
While I love the WE army and think the book is really cool, the writers really did a poor job with so much ambiguous wording in it.
I disagree. I use it often enough with my WR Lord on Stag, and have never been confused about its purpose. It's a spear with all the advantages of a regular spear, with the added bonus of having Killing Blow. I think that the rules are open to a certain degree of reasonable interpretation - refer to "The Most Important Rule" on page 3 of the rules section of the rulebook. Just because it isn't explicitly stated that it "counts as a spear" doesn't mean it shouldn't be counted as such - it is called a spear after all.
That's because of the rule on p. 121 of the LRB. Magic weapons always ignore special rules of mundane weapons of the same type, "unless specified in the description of the weapon."
A spear's strength bonus is is, according to pages 54-57 of the LRB, a special weapon rule.
So it doesn't count as a spear. That's why you see certain magic weapons with the line "Counts as a great weapon" or, like the dawnspear, "counts as a spear."
Trust me, I don't like it. And I think it's cockeyed. I suppose it's GW trying to keep magic items from being too overpowered, but personally, I don't think it's necessary.