Welcome to Librarium Online!
So the UK Grand Tournament sent out a PDF document to contestants that a Treeman could stand and shoot and could do so without LoS.
Pretty nice, that. Let's hope it turns up in an FAQ, too! But for now, that's official enough for me. :yes:
Stand and shoot with Strangle Roots? I can see it now:
Opponent: "I'm charging your Treeman in the rear with my <insert generic cavalry unit>!"
Me: "Haha, you fool! Terror test on you!" (assumed passed)
Opponent: "Who's the fool now!"
Me: "You are! Strangle roots, stand and shoot !" (rolls 10, kills 5)
Opponent: "Oh no, Panic on me!"
It'll never ever ever work like that; we can but hope. That just made my day.
It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
that made my week!! I always got into fights over that and ended up just not trying for it, but now mwahahahaha. one more reason why treemen are amazing
Any hopes of getting a copy of that PDF? I'll have a tough time getting the folks in my campaign to take my word for it, ever since I brought up the "range on the 2nd effect of tree singing" issue.
The GW staff who play in my campaign insist that the range is 18", but I'll continue to hope until there's some official word - besides, I'm somewhat convinced that their ruling is mostly motivated by self-serving intentions :shifty:
But I do bnot think you need their approval to say that it can be used further then 18". Looking at the spell is says Alternatively this spell may be used if the target is in a forest or forest like area. Rules as written say in a forest or forest like area, not one within 18". Their is no interpretation needed.
Hmmm... There's a complete separate thread devoted to this topic *here (Tree Singing???)*
Suffice to say I was just going with the majority ruling in my campaign. I shall continue to hold out for documentation stating that Treemen can stand and shoot. As if people weren't already afraid enough to charge treemen.