Beginner Player 800 points army - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Beginner Player 800 points army

I'm a beginner player playing WH 40K for the first time so I'd rather check what units are good and what units plain suck before buying them and wasting all my money. My enemies are basically all heavy infantry types, and I'm facing 2 witchhunters, daemonhunters, and blood ravens as well as chaos space marines and tau, the only non heavy-infantry army. From what I gather, the enemy mostly plan to use transports and tanks (Land Raider Crusader and Predators in particular, I think) in general, so I thought of using a long-range shooty army with enough fire power to bring them down. This is my current army:

HQ (130 points)

No idea at all on this one. Currently:

Autarch
    Eldar Jetbike
    Mandiblasters
    Laser lance

for 130 points, the main trouble being I'm not particularly planning on using any kind of jetbike squad. Shining spears are out of the question and I'm not a fan of Guardian Jetbikes either. Will appreciate opinions for this, definitely.

Troops (240)

Stumped. Currently:

2x

5 Pathfinders

for 240 points. Seems ineffective because of high enemy armour saves.

Elites

5 Fire Dragons, Exarch with Tank Hunters
    5 Howling Banshees Exarch

for a total of 199 points. I was thinking of sticking this with the rest of my people because apparently the enemy plan to deep strike into my people. There's also talk of Land Raider Crusaders or three Rhinos, which I hope Fire Dragons will counter.

Heavy Support (230)

2x

Fire Prisms

for 230 points.