Librarium Online Forums banner

1750 Army-List Standard (help me beat Tau and IG)

997 views 17 replies 5 participants last post by  mast 
#1 ·
Hi, this is my first post! Although I've been lurking in the dark alot.
I am having trouble beating Tau and IG with my necron army. And will now try to post my armylist here and see if any experienced necron players could give me a hand.

This is what I will try the next "friendly tournament":

ANTI TANK
-----------
H 165 3x Tomb Spyder
H 195 3x Heavy Destroyer
F 160 10x Scarab Swarms (D.Field)
F 160 10x Scarab Swarms (D.Field)

TROOPS
---------
T 180 10x Warriors
T 180 10x Warriors
T 180 10x Warriors
T 180 10x Warriors

SCARE TACTICS
------------------
HQ 300 1x Deciever

The reason I have no Monolith in this list is because they tend to blow up alot against Tau and IG. And having a Deciever going around forcing Tau and IG players to roll for leadership all the time sounds good. I have never tried this before but at least it sounds good.
Also, this is the first time I dont have a necron lord with orb with me.

Regards Peter

See less See more
#2 ·
Oooooo a new guy :sinister:

Anti Tank.
Tomb spyders? 3 of them? it's like you're trying to get on my good side or something. :soldier: Remember that a lone spyder can most likely down an entire troops squad on it's own, this includes heavy armored targets, Tau suits and imperial stormtroopers are other good targets for them.

I would suggest not using scarabs as anti tank. Against Tau/IG they can get into enemy squads and actually win combat for you, use them as assaulters. The amount of points you'd save by not taking d-fields could save you enough points to get a fourth heavy destroyer (split them into two squads of two). Perhaps split into 3 squads of 7 scarabs? The more flexibility you have with them the better, they can act as cover saves for your warriors as well as tying up enemy formations.