A fex with Spinebanks and warrior question. - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

A fex with Spinebanks and warrior question.

I am fairly new to the game, havent actually played a game yet, but have been studying the tyranids for well over 2 years now. I just dont have the money for begin playing heh...anyways, back to the question at hand. I have assembled and painted my carnifex, and I beleived at the time it was a good build, just for a decent fex, but now I am beginning to doubt because I see people building the elite choice fexes, or sniper fexes way more than hybrid fexes. So here is my Fex now, as he stands.

Carnifex:
    Adrenal Glands (WS)
    Bio-Plasma
    Spine Banks
    Flesh Hooks
    Venom Cannon
    Scything Talons
    Extended Carapace (Sv)
    Enhanced Senses (BS)

I molded on a kind of antenna for the Enhanced Senses since shooting any ranged weapon with a BS of 2 didnt seem smart, and it doesnt say I cant use 2 head biomorphs. The spine banks are for an extra shot in the shooting phase before I charged in. Now as you can see I have both Spine Banks and Flesh Hooks, both give the frag grenades ability, but flesh hooks allow my fex to cross vertically impassible terrain where others cannot, giving him a slight edge in a few cases. Basically I geuss I want to know if Spine Banks, or even a hybrid fex is worth it now, or just a liability in an army.