1000 pt Beginner Army - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

1 (x0)

1000 pt Beginner Army

Hi, I recently started playing Tyranids, and have been trying to make an army to play my friends with (they play orks and IG). I've tweaked it a couple times now (from recommendations from many people) and wanted to see what this forum thought of it.

1 Hive Tyrant -2 Scything Talons 186 pts
    -Adrenal Glands (+1 WS)
    -Flesh Hooks
    -Toxin Sacs
    -Warp Field

5 Warriors -x1 Barbed Strangler, Deathspitter x4 175 pts
    -Scything Talons
    -Extended Carapace
    -Toxin Sacs

17 Gaunts -Fleshborer 102 pts

8 Gaunts -Spinefists 64 pts
    -Without Number

7 Genestealers -Feeder Tendrils 140 pts

7 Genestealers -Feeder Tendrils 119 pts

1 Carnifex -Barbed Strangler 149 pts
    -Venom Cannon
    -Enhanced Senses
    -Flesh Hooks

1 Zoanthrope -Synapse Creature 65 pts
    -Warp Blast

Does it look ok? Are there any holes I should be filling? I'm looking for any advice you have to offer.

2. Remove Advertisements

Formerly Prince of Excess EmoJosh's Avatar
    Gilbert, AZ
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

368 (x8)

Here's my take.

I'd ditch the Warp Field. The Invuln will never save you and the better save isn't a big deal. A Flyrant tears through Troops like paper, just send it at the right things and it'll be fine.

Warriors look okay, I'd add Enhanced Senses so they hit. Good unit to lay the hurt on Guard or other Horde.

I'd use Hormagaunts instead of shooty Gaunts. The Shooty Tyranid army is usually a Stompy one, you need some CC punch. Let your slow Warriors and 'Fex do the cover fire.