Space marines doing my nut in - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Space marines doing my nut in

Rather than an actual army list this is a, am i doing something wrong with my lists sort of thread. My main opponents are tau, space marines and tyranids. I'm doing absoutely fine against nids and tau but the SM i win less than 20% of the games. I have been playing for about 5 months.

Please bear in mind that i do not want an anti-SM list, i want an all round list, but some tips on how to defeat my opponent.

Heres the average 2250 force i would field:

Deciever 300
    Lord, orb, chronometron, warscythe, gaze of flames, lightning field 200

10 warriors 180
    11 warriors 198
    11 warriors 198

4 destroyers 200
    3 destroyers 150
    3 destroyers 150

Monolith 235
    Monolith 235

My tactics include keeping one of the 11 strong in reserve and coming onto the board late game for my objectives and to protect me from phase out (unless i absolutely need them on the board). Using destroyers as snipers to outrange enemy elite units and pick them off, or to wipe swathes of incoming troops with their S6 Ap4. Using the Deciever as the "goalkeeper" only fighting combats i want to fight and allowing my troops to move along if neccesary. Monoliths as moving scenery for Decievers advance if the opponent is playing a gunline. Lord is equipped to allow the warrior unit to survive the combat before being ported out by monolith for 2x WBB.
    Hide destroyers and troops if neccesary and turbo boost to objectives in Non kill point games