Combat Patrol - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Combat Patrol

  1. #1
    Senior Member Squeaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Age
    26
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Combat Patrol

    March 30th is my deadline. Since I am broke I have to make due with the models I have. Basically I have a Necron Battle Force (ie: 28 Warriors, 7 Scarabs, and 3 Destroyers) plus a Necron Destroyer Lord, and Tomb Spyder.

    Since it is combat patrol I of course cannot use the Necron Destroyer Lord because he breaks one of the fundamental Combat Patrol rules. So I sketched up two ideas of what I am going to use and I need your guys help (yes you!) to help me decide what to use in each situation.
    Idea 1

    14 Warriors
    2 Destroyers
    7 Scarabs

    Total: 400

    Idea 2

    13 Warriors
    2 Destroyers
    1 Tomb Spyder

    Total: 389

    So with idea two at least I can produce Scarabs but I run the gambit of wounding my Tomb Spyder. With idea one I will have a fast hard hitting combat patrol. While with the second idea the Tomb Spyder will greatly increase the survivability of my few Necrons.

    So I'm hoping to go up against some Ravenwing, and to be honest, besides that I don't know what to expect.

    Well i don't even know anymore, I got myself even more confused since I started writing this...should I just get rid of the scarabs and get a third destroyer and more Warriors? That way at least it will help against Phase Out. But I would need to Scarabs to help me out in CC...dam I'm confused now. :hmm:

    And if Phase Out applies in Combat Patrol that is a scary thought. I would only have to lose 300 points...


    :huh::blink:



  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member null_sheen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    367
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    56 (x1)

    Well working with what you have:

    What about
    2 x 11 Warriors?

    If you really want a mix:
    10 Warriors
    3 Destroyers
    5 Scarabs

    I have ever played a small battle like this but destroyers will be your best unit.

    22 Warriors in 400 points will be strong.

    I am concerned about this statement:
    While with the second idea the Tomb Spyder will greatly increase the survivability of my few Necrons.
    Makes me think that you think a Tomb Spyder works like a Reserection orb.....It doesn't.
    I suggest you read the rules and WBB, Reserection Orbs and Tomb Spyders as they all have different effects on the game. Because a if you are taking a Tomb Spyder in List 2 is only good as a monstrous creature not as a WBB point.

  4. #3
    Member Durandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    In Combat Patrol, no model may have more than 2 wounds. That, unfortunately, rules out your scarab swarms.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Squeaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Age
    26
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Durandal View Post
    In Combat Patrol, no model may have more than 2 wounds. That, unfortunately, rules out your scarab swarms.
    Wow. That just hit me. I would never think about that. Scarabs just seemed so insignificant that it didn't dawn on me.

    So I have a question though...if I took a Tomb Spyder would I be able to spawn scarbs or is that completely off the table?

    So I guess my best bet is to just use all my destroyers and as many warriors as I can get...but now the question is...

    Tomb Spyder...yes or no?


  6. #5
    Member sentinel5000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Australia
    Age
    24
    Posts
    196
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -3 (x0)

    Firstly, the minimum squad number for the destroyer is 3. You cannot have 2 in a squad. Secondly, in combat patrol you cannot have any models with more than 3 wounds. Not 2.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    Necrons army
    W/L/D

    0/2/1

  7. #6
    for good and for awesome! kore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    134 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by sentinel5000 View Post
    Secondly, in combat patrol you cannot have any models with more than 3 wounds. Not 2.
    Your reply, here, suggests that you can have a model with 3 wounds in Combat Control. If this is true, then your statement is completely wrong. 2 wounds is the maximum any model can have in Combat Patrol(BGB, pg 182, bullet 5 under "Army Limitations").
    Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007


  8. #7
    The Orange Grey Knight MiketehFox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    196 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Squeaks View Post
    my best bet is to just use all my destroyers and as many warriors as I can get
    Thats what I'd do, 3 Destroyers can be nasty, and so can 13 Warriors.

    Mike

  9. #8
    Senior Member Squeaks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Age
    26
    Posts
    461
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    19 (x1)

    Yup, I guess that is what I'm going with because of my limited resources. But that's okay. Thanks guys.


  10. #9
    Senior Member AlbinoAlien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cincinati
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,065
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    72 (x3)

    regardless of the two wound rule, if a tomb spyder produces a unit with three wounds, i still bileve the unit would be legal, yes? because they are basically just an extention of the ability of the tomb spyder.
    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...d.php?t=104497
    PM me about Aurora Prime Vassal fights! Willing and ready!

  11. #10
    for good and for awesome! kore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    134 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by AlbinoAlien View Post
    regardless of the two wound rule, if a tomb spyder produces a unit with three wounds, i still bileve the unit would be legal, yes? because they are basically just an extention of the ability of the tomb spyder.
    I think a case for this could be argued.
    Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

LinkBacks (?)

  1. June 1st, 2007, 16:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts