Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hy im just wondering if anyone else has notest that a scorp exach can take both a bitting blade and a scorpions claw??
also acording to the enemies of the imperium program that makes him S8 with +1 stength for each hit.
so yeah just throwing this out there and wondering what you people think of it?
I love Pathfinders.
The biting blade is a two handed CC weapon, he probably can take both but he cannot gain the benefits of both weapons at the same time.
IRON WITHIN, IRON WITHOUT!
I survived LO Chat thanks to: Karmoon, Rabbit, Process, Tossy and Meish.
Yes you can buy both BUT:
- With a Scorpions claw the Exarch will be strength 6, not 8, because his base strength is 3. He only gets the additional strength because of the Scorpion Chainsword. Even then you cannot combine weapon effects.
- The Biting Blade is two handed as Ironangle says so you used it in combat you wouldn't beable to use the Scorpions Claw anyways, never mind the fact you cannot combine different weapon effects...as mentioned above.
So in short, no what you said doesn't work. You either get the Strength 6 powerfist attack or the strength increasing Bitingblade starting from strength of 4 as the weapon itself increases strength while equipped.
i have seen this argument before, and it really comes down to plan english.
since the sentence says : can exchange a for x, b for y, or both for c, means or, or, or.
if someone says you can have cake for desert, chicken for supper, or speggeti for both, that doesnt mean you can have cake and chicken.
you may be able to carry both weapons on the exarch but he can only use one of them at the time.
So a no go with that idea.
hope it helps
"Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers; all of which are true and terrifying to know"
ok had another look and the thing to note is
ok sorry about that the problem with the copy infringment it didnt lick until cheraldine spotted it.
anyway take the time to read the rules for biting blades and compare it to every other article in 4th ed that adds strengh bonuses.
this seems to indicate that you get the +1s regardless of whether you atack with it.
so the way i see it you can have S7 and strike last or have S4 and get +1 for each hit
Last edited by eldratch the fallen; September 25th, 2007 at 11:06. Reason: fixing infringment
I love Pathfinders.
ok here is your problem, GW dont write perfect rules or even perfect english, for example, in the rule book, find the sections on armies, see the forces of the inquisition? nice picci of WH and DH advancing? read the text in the bottom right of that page- defend the enemies of mankind? what??????
you are trying to exploploit wording, the +1str for scorpions chainsword is cos the sword is so sharp, clearly if you dont use the sword you lose the bonus
Last edited by Cheredanine; September 25th, 2007 at 11:25.
Everything you have been told is a lie!
If I may take over this thread...
Just a quick question about a Scorpion Exarch: If he is kitted out with a Chainsword & Claw, what initiative does he strike at? Can I pick & choose (eg: I attack 3 times at base initiative with my Chainsword, and my last attack is with the Claw...), or is it always last (eg: attack 4 times with the Claw?)
"If we all reacted the same way, we'd be predictable, and there's always more than one way to view a situation. What's true for the group is also true for the individual. It's simple: Overspecialize, and you breed in weakness. It's slow death." - Major Kusanagi, Ghost in the Shell
You choose which weapon to use at the start of the combat, so it's either claw or sword.