Can Hit & Run be used against vehicles (non-walker) - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    40
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Can Hit & Run be used against vehicles (non-walker)

    Does an assault against a vehicle that is not a walker constitute a round of close combat?

    In other word would a unit that has hit and run be able to fallback after attacking say a tank or a skimmer (since none of them would fallback)?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by 40knoob View Post
    Does an assault against a vehicle that is not a walker constitute a round of close combat?

    In other word would a unit that has hit and run be able to fallback after attacking say a tank or a skimmer (since none of them would fallback)?
    Hi,
    you can not engage a vehicle and lock it in close combat but can assault it and therefore "hit and run."
    Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  4. #3
    Senior Member dizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    724
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    Not unless the vechicle is imobilised or can't move for a turn.
    Remember a vechicle can move out of combat so Hit and Run really isn't a good idea
    against one.
    What would happen is this, You charge the vechicle, next turn vechicle moves. Hellions get splated from shooting.

    You can charge and run in same turn, but all that achieves is you getting splatted from shooting again, really not how hellions should be used, Hellions are a high points cost for what they can do, I Reccomend not charging vechicles not unless theres cover near by that you know you can make it to hide behind, although jink save is ok try and find buildings for 4+
    Last edited by dizzie; July 30th, 2007 at 13:30.
    If you're always worried about crushing the ants beneath you...you won't be able to walk.

  5. #4
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    As wicky said. No you can't.

    this is cleared up in the Rule Book FAQ.
    good reasoning there wicky.
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Age
    40
    Posts
    28
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Splata re-read wicky's answer
    you can not engage a vehicle and lock it in close combat but can assault it and therefore "hit and run."
    The entire idea here is to assault the vehicle use the haywired grenade (or agoniser) and immediately hit and run away (ideally in cover of more then 5+).

  7. #6
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    yes, thankyou for pointing that out.

    in that case. i disagree with you wicky. bad wicky for making me agree.

    you will find your answer is no on the last page of the general rules FAQ on the GW site
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

  8. #7
    Dark Eldar Gerbil Splata's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,522
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    159 (x5)

    double post. first time it errored out, so i restated.
    pls delete
    Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
    Dear Game Developer,
    Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
    Signed Scissors.

    WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
    http://forums.relicnews.com/showthread.php?t=149386

  9. #8
    0!=1jumpin'punch'swing jONESIE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Northern Rivers, Oz
    Age
    30
    Posts
    787
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x3)

    Simon says No. erm Scott says No. Thinks No. me = no :P

    I understand where Wicky is coming from, but I feel that you can't Hit/Run a vehicle that doesn't have a Weapon Skill value. No locking = no end of combat = no hit run. Not very RAW, but makes common sense to me
    That's how I've played for the last gajillion years {goofy} Just my 2 cents.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
    You need more Mordians?
    They still exist?
    LO RULES

  10. #9
    Dark Eldar Zealot Wicky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Menai Sydney Australia
    Age
    56
    Posts
    3,699
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    434 (x8)

    Hi,
    Looks like I got it wrong again, so I agree with what Splata disagrees with, if that makes sense. So if the General FAQ’s state –
    Q. Can a model use the Hit and Run special rule after assaulting a non- WS vehicle?
    A, No.
    and
    Q. Can a model use the Hit and Run special rule if a the end of a combat it is no longer locked in combat (e.g. if it has destroyed all enemies?)
    A. No.
    Then that’s the answer, no question about it, you need to have an “end of combat locked condition” to activate the hit and run rule.
    Good call guys, Cheers.
    In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.

  11. #10
    Senior Member dizzie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Ireland
    Age
    35
    Posts
    724
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    54 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by wickywacky1 View Post
    Hi,
    Looks like I got it wrong again, so I agree with what Splata disagrees with, if that makes sense. So if the General FAQ’s state –
    Q. Can a model use the Hit and Run special rule after assaulting a non- WS vehicle?
    A, No.
    Doesn't matter if the vehicle has a WS or not, If you charge a non- WS vehicle its still considered combat therefore you can Hit and run.
    How can you charge the vehicle if you are not entering combat?
    Therefore if it's cosidered combat, you can hit and run in the same turn, so as long as you do it on the same turn as you charged you can still do it, otherwise the vehicle will move away in the following turn.
    By the way I think your thinking with a non- WS vehicle is way off. It should'nt matter if it has a WS or not, All the WS really means is whether the vechicle can move away or not in the following turn.

    Example.
    Eldar walker- has WS locked in combat.
    raider- non WS able to move of.
    vect - has WS locked in combat.

    Thats what I originally took a WS on any vehicle to mean, correct me if i'm wrong, or can you explain in more detail wicky?
    I'm not saying your wrong, there's probably something i'm over looking.
    If you're always worried about crushing the ants beneath you...you won't be able to walk.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts