Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This came up the other night. Models attack the monolith can only ever roll for penetration using the models strength + 1d6. However haywire grenades bypass the penetration roll and go straight to the result.
So am I interpreting this properly when I say I can use my haywire grenades against the monolith?
In short, yes they can and they will. Problem is you hit the lith on 6+ cause its a skimmer. To counter that, take a small wych unit, give them haywires, and goblet of spite to succubi. Than you will be hitting it on 3s and most likely disable/destroy is before it gets a chance to do some serious damage. But, there is always the option of ignoring it which is probably your best chance of beating any necro player.
Last edited by WraithGuardian; July 31st, 2007 at 02:51.
Yes, yes they can in fact haywire nades are one of the few ways for DE to take out a monolith. Haywire's plus goblet of spite means you have a good chance of hitting the monolith.
Prey they don't take you alive
yes they can.
This is because you have the rule slightly wrong.
you can't take bonus pen dice. thing is haywire don't need bonus pen. they have special rules. so they bypass that rule.
Dear Game Developer,Caps-Lock, its like cruise-control for AWESOMENESS!
Rock is cheese, Paper is just fine
WWP and other Dark Eldar how to
Yeah. But doing the Wyches/Haywire/Goblet combo, means that they're very likely to kill the Monolith (because they only need to roll a 2+ to glance)... and just get slaughtered by shooting in the next phase.So am I interpreting this properly when I say I can use my haywire grenades against the monolith?
And giving a Wych Haywire Grenades adds to their points cost by 33%, without making them ANY better at not getting shot off the board immediately. And if they've got the Goblet (to make this tactic feasible) they get hit on a 3+ in CC, also.
I've had better results from teams of 3 Jetbikes with 2 Blasters (in tandem with Warrior squads with DLs), to be honest.
Of course, it's best to ignore any non-Necron unit when playing Necrons, but the nature of the Monolith is such that often, you CAN'T ignore it (unlike the C'tan).
And just to stir the pot here, be careful claiming that the Goblet of Spite can effect non weapon skill vehicles (like the Monolith) due to its "hand to hand" wording. Its not like I really want to see it ruled out but going from a RAW view it can't be done, so don't go down the road of arguing for it. Use it as such by all means, just don't argue too hard as its a can of worms.
In a controversy the instant we feel anger we have already ceased striving for the truth, and have begun striving for ourselves.
You need to keep the entire unit (all the models) that are in the unit of the succubus that carries the goblet out of b2b if you want to avoid the ennemy getting the 3+. Obviously fast moving assault squad (assault space marines or tyranids hormagaunts for example) could be a real problem for a squad carrying a goblet of spite that is trying to stay out of harms way.
I'm not a fan of the squad either because against 99% of vehicles, lances and blasters will serve you better. So if you're taking a squad just because of the other 1% of them then it really is wasteful as they'll be pretty useless against other opponents. Then even against that 1%, the squad isn't all that useful or reliable, and it *will* die after it attempts to destroy the vehicle, whether it succeeds or not. One more thing, if that squad is the only thing in your army that can hurt the monolith, don't you think he'll take extra precautions to kill that particular squad? With the teleportation methods that the necrons have, they can pretty easily single out a squad like this and take it out. Raider and all. Veil of darkness into a point where they can see it, immortals unload gauss fire, you've wasted a heapload of points.
With that said, I am firmly on the side which says that the goblet *does* work against vehicles, certainly RAWwise, not necessarily RAIwise, but definitely from a fairness point of view.
Tenozuma - The Burninator... I came, I saw, I posted.Originally Posted by Aussie Bogan
Dark Eldar player.
Feel free to PM if you want any advice or help with anything.
Assume everything I say has a "what I think" disclaimer.
Hang out with all the other Aussie and NZ members at The ANZAC Clan.
Need advice, want to talk warhammer or just want a laugh? Come on LO Chat. http://www.librarium-chat.com/
I will say that the unit isnt necessarily useless, those wyches can still dish it out if you decide to run them against legged folk. I will say everytime I used this squad layout they end up destroying the target with their blasters before I get a chance to assault and they didnt do to well with the "Matrix Dodge" neither.