Welcome to Librarium Online!
Question: This is an interesting one, so bear with me... The Hammerhead railgun submunition does not scatter as I understand it. I have to fire it at one unit within range, roll to hit, then place the large blast over a model in the targeted unit to calculate models hit, then roll to wound, etc... The actual question in all this is if the blast marker is placed over the targeted unit, ans is also over another unit, do both units take casualties?
This may seem like a no-brainer, but this weekend I played an eldar army with Harlequins in it that were standing right next to a unit of Guardians. I fired at the guardians (because I didn't want to roll to see the harlequins) and placed the marker so that it hit the guardians AND the harlequins, and he seemed to think that because the thing doesn't scatter it doesn't make sense that it could wound multiple units. Just to get through it, we rolled off to decide, and I lost, so only his guardians took casualties. This ended up being absolutely pivotal because those harlequins got in my face shortly after and managed to consolidate-lock 2 units of fire warriors and my broadsides. I still pulled out a narrow victory because he couldn't do much to my Hammerhead and Sky Ray.
The template must be placed so it hits the maximum number of models in the targetted unit. If it happens that the template also covers models in another unit then these will also be hit (or partially).
On p. 31 it does say that you must place a flame template over the most enemies possible, but I'm not using a flamer in this case.
My mistake sorry, Large blast weapons you just place the template over 1 model in the unit. So yes, if you want to place it so 2 units are hit thats fine, obviously as long as the center is over a model in the targetted unit.
The rules for Blast Weapons do not include the same phrase as found under Template Weapons: "...covers as many models as possible in the target unit...". This would therefore suggest that you can indeed effectively 'legally target' two enemy units by declaring one as the primary target but placing the marker in such a fashion so as to affect the 'secondary' target unit.
It is unlikely though that many players would allow this situation to happen, but sometimes events occur to confound normality! Nice when it happens.
"Tau Commandment #226: Participants who use Velocity Trackers in the Tau Clay Pigeon Tournament will be disqualified"
The only limitation on blast template weapons is that the owner of the targeted unit can remove any member of the unit as a casualty, this is to avoid sniping of models like Independent Characters and such like.
If any player told me the placing of a template was not allowed, I would politely ask him to show me where the rule states it, if he cannot show me the rule then its tough, its not cheating, its an entirely legal tactic, to be quite honest its just silly to think a large blast template weapon would never hit two targets, its a large area effect weapon so its entirely justified to hit as many targets with it as possible.
Like Trayce said the two units were right next to each other, what happens if say a 3 strong combat squad is next to a 4 man squad other and the template covers all of the 3 man squad but the template impinges on the second squad, do we just discount the hits, even if the unit layout made it impossible to not hit the second unit?
Ok this is not strictly a reply to this scenario, but it's similar. What happens if a Baal predator with heavy flamers and assault cannon fires the assault cannon at a distant tank, and there is an infantry unit in the same direction and within range of the heavy flamers?
Do they also fire even though they can't reach the tank and end up happily toasting the troops in front of them?
If you need justification as to why its in the Tau forum, it could happen with a missile pod, flamer suit too.
As far as i know a tank must fire all its weaponry at the same target, so if the Assault Cannon fired at a distant target thats fine, but the Flamers would be obviously out of range of the distant enemy and so would be unable to fire.
That just my opinion on it though, and firing the flamers at a different target does seem a little unsporting. Ofcourse tau can get upgrades allowing them to fire at separate units from each other, and their tanks can aim at multiple units.
If a unit of infantry was close to the tank however and got caught in the flamer template then yeah they could be hit, even though the flamer was targeting the tank.