Welcome to Librarium Online!
As it stands now, according to the codex and GW FAQ, a unit teleporting through a monolith is allowed to deploy 2" out, then make a full move, and then assault (as long as it doesn't have to move to get into range of the monolith which is oddly forbidden by the codex but then it appears to be allowed by the FAQ). I read a discussion on Dakka Dakka where certain people claimed that there was a cut and paste update to either the codex or the FAQ in some magazine (I believe it was White Dwarf) that did away with this.
Is there anything I am missing the current codex or FAQ that would make what I just said illegal? I've been playing some games lately and I've been teleporting through 8 immortals with 2 destroyer lords before shooting the hell out of a few units and assaulting 3 different units all from a squad that can remain out of LOS before teleporting. It just doesn't seem right to me
Yeah man, entirely legal- you always count as disembarking from a stationary vehicle. You can only move once, either a) to get in range of the monolith to teleport, or b) you were already in range, teleport, then you can move away. In either case, you can assault if in range. You already hit this on the head perfectly
There is no problem with wordings or anything else, in my mind. It's very straightforward.
LoS is no issue at all, it isn't needed. The only requirement to teleport is you forfeit Monolith shooting, and that the target is within range. You could be nice and comfortable in a corner behind a forrest, then just teleport right into battle... that's the beauty of it (that, and recycling). No problems. Cheeky, yes, but so is Tau Jetpacks spitting missles and plasma, only to duck behind cover again in the Assault Phase (I find this more rude then any trick I can pull with Necrons, excluding the Deciever)
In your example of Immortals and 2 Destroyer Lords, you could have them hidden behind area terrain. Later, teleport them all as one unit, finish your movement -> then declare they are seperating. ICs become seperate ICs and unit is alone. Now comes the assault phase. They then go off and charge 3 seperate enemies. No worries! There is nothing wrong with this at all. Seems wrong, but only because of the Monoliths unique properties and the fact that no-one else can do this.
Now go forth with impunity, Ancient One, and harvest the younger races!
Yeah, I know you don't need LoS or anything like that and I've been playing it like this ever since I started. I was playing against a friend the other day who had a farsight faction of tau and with 2 d lord, 16 immortal, 30 warriors, and 2 monoliths I was poised to table him in the 2nd turn. He's a great player and it just seemed that he was powerless to stop this so it seems kind of cheap to me
For bigger games, it's a funky move to have a foot Lord with Veil and Destroyer Lord with Orb attatch to a unit... then, if a monolith teleports, and your Scarabs/Destroyers Turbo, coupled with the Lords Veiling together with a unit, you can fully re-deploy, and have that Destroyer Lord use his enhanced movement to once again cover the re-deployed army with his Orb next turn.. great for totally shifting your armys face of attack and focusing firepower on an entirely different section of an opponent who is suddenly out of position and quite stumped with his original game plan.
Which doesn't invalidate the tactic, it just means that you have to wait until the turn after you teleport to branch off the Lords.