Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey everyone just wanted to get a little clarification on these rules.
Q1. Can an autarch with reaper launcher fire it in the shooting phase and then charge into too combat in the assalt phase if hes mounted on a jetbike claiming an extra attack with two close combat weapons (ie shuriken pistol (on his profile) and ccw)?
Q2. Iniate combat means charge or can consolidate also be counted?
Q3. Can ICs benfit from exarch powers ?
thanks for the help in advance
1. Ummm...I vote he can't claim the extra CC weapon attack because he can only use single handed weapons on a jetbike.
2. Consolidation does not count (if it did, DE would be nearly unbeatable).
Hope that helps.
I actually believe that the Reaper Launcher is a Heavy weapon and therefore he can't move and shoot it. He also can't assault if he has shot with it.
Though he will gain the extra attack for two close combat weapons as he does not lose the pistol when he buys the reaper launcher.
But I call to God, and the LORD saves me.
Whoops, posted instead of previewing.
Negative. On p. 54 of the BRB, it does not mention an exception in the rules(left side, second paragraph), but under the Assault section, no mention of being able to charge after firing a heavy weapon is listed. Note though, that jetbikes may fire Heavy weaponry(BRB, p. 54) as long as they don't move more than 12"(BRB, p. 54). Also note that he does not give up the CC weapon and pistol, so if he were given a weapon he could assault with, which had a 2-hand requirement--say a lasblaster--he would be able to fire it, and then charge, gaining a 1+ attack. Why people think he has to keep that weapon out, ready, and in both hands all the time is beyond me.Hey everyone just wanted to get a little clarification on these rules.
Q1. Can an autarch with reaper launcher fire it in the shooting phase and then charge into too combat in the assalt phase if hes mounted on a jetbike claiming an extra attack with two close combat weapons (ie shuriken pistol (on his profile) and ccw)?Unsure. I believe so, as they could have easily used "charge".Q2. Iniate combat means charge or can consolidate also be counted?I believe so, as under there is no exception, save for Striking Scorpions with an Autarch. A Character "...can temporarily join other units."(BRB, p. 50) Skyleap for example has "The player may elect to remove a unit with Skyleap from the table in its movement phase..."(Codex: Eldar, p. 35).Q3. Can ICs benfit from exarch powers ?
Last edited by Tralfagar; September 1st, 2007 at 04:51.
1. This question was argued for a few pages in the army list forum until GW was caled up and they say you can move and fire with the reaper launcher when on a jetbike. Sice you didn't fire with it in the shooting phase I would say that you can't get an extra CC attack with the pistol. the pistol is there incase you have a fusion gun and you are fighting gaunts. Better to fire once and then charge with an exztra attack instead of using one big shot and then charging without it.
2. My guess would be any combat in which you initiate it. so consolodate should work as well in my opinion.
3. The rulebooks say no, but White Dwarf says Autarchs can except when the codex says they can't. This is a result of him once being that aspect. Farseers and non-autarchs can't use them.
Join the Children of Isha
Q2: Not sure about this one - sorry.
Q3: Sorry to contradict others that have posted but SOME IC's can - namely Autarchs and Phoenix Lords. Check page 21 of the Eldar Codex - Exarch powers 'flow through' to Aspect warriors in their unit. Without this rule, certain abilities wouldn't work (a lot of special rules are lost if the whole unit doesn't have the ability, so this clause lets the Exarch gives "Everyone has to have this ability" abilities to his/her unit). Since Autarchs and Phoenix Lords are Aspect warriors, they can take on Exarch abilities and if you stick an Autarch and Phoenix Lord (or two Phoenix Lords) into a non-aspect warrior squad (like say, Guardians or Harlequins), the Exarch abilities on the Phoenix Lord(s) will transfer ONLY to the Autarch/Phoenix Lord(s).
Hope that helps!
Toonces is spot on the money.
Page 54 answers Q1. The last sentence under "shooting phase" for jetbikes.
I would like to add to Q3 that this is an exception from the normal IC rules. An Autarch or Phoenix Lord without Hit and Run joining a squad of Harlequins, for instance, will make them loose that ability.
Last edited by draxshared; September 4th, 2007 at 03:37.
Nowhere does it say you have to fire the pistol in order to use it in cc...hell nowhere does it say you're even using the pistol, you just have it.
If you have just the pistol and reaper launcher you don't get an extra attack. If you have the reaper launcher, pistol AND power weapon or chainsword then you do get the extra attack. Even if you're jumping around shooting a reaper launcher.
What context is initiate for? what do you want to do after consolidating into em? If you consolidate into an enemy they are locked in cc but you don't fight it out until next assault phase.
Actually ANYTHING can benefit from exarch powers. If you put Asurmen in a guardian squad they can bladestorm. If you put Maugan Ra in too he can bladestorm the Maugeter. A farseer and a shuriken pistol could benefit from it too. If you attach an autarch to a fire dragon squad he can get tank hunters. Attached Characters don't benefit from the squads abilities though. Well, they do benefit from exarch powers but seeing as they can only join their aspect or non-aspect squads and have the powers already its irrelevant.
EDIT: Sorry I just checked page 21. I'm wrong on this one
Last edited by LordLink; September 4th, 2007 at 03:50.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
Page 21 of which book?
If you call it a Missile launcher, then it'll never hit anything.
100% of people who aren't Karmoon know Saraneth is invincible.