Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just completed designing a 1500 pts citis of death nid list, all CC , only "shooting" attack is on a walking tyrant, but anyways,
Does the effect from Toxic miasma stack?
That is, if I have 2 tyrants, and 3 fex'es all with toxic miasma smashing a single unit, will that unit get -5 to its WS :drinking: ? (not likely to get all 5 MC's in combat with 1 unit, but still)
Could not find the answer to that (did a quick search), so I apologize if this has been asked before.
Something I've always wondered about, but I operate that it stacks, on the rare occasion i get a zoanthrope and something else with it in combat. It simply states it reduces target's WS by 1. It doesn't say it stacks or doesn't stack, but if you operate on that theory, I would think you just take w/e the WS is and subtract one. If the WS is 4, and you apply one TM, it is 3. If you apply another, you would presumably subtract another from the WS, now 3, reduced to 2, etc.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
It doesn't stack, I think
Because each Monstrous Creature is a unit of it's own, you can't attack more than one TMC with each model, like a Character can't split attacks (he must direct all at a single unit/thing- same with each model in a unit), it's only going to be *modified* once for the model attacking the Big Toxic Gribbly From memory, the rule says something like "attacking a creature with X loses WS.." or something like that.
Last edited by jONESIE; September 2nd, 2007 at 01:44.
LO RULESOriginally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
Attacking OR being attacked by. So, if the model is being attacked by 5 monstrous creatures, or even 2 mc's and 3 zoanthropes, theoretically he would subtract 1 from his WS for each.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
"Attacking OR being attacked by. So, if the model is being attacked by 5 monstrous creatures, or even 2 mc's and 3 zoanthropes, theoretically he would subtract 1 from his WS for each."
Thats what I thought, Since as you say, the rule itself does not mention stacking (or the lack off), thus logically , using the rule as written in the codex, it does stack. Just figured that having someone else than myself thinking this was a good thing, just in case my marine opponent disagrees. (Take that emperors champion )
I think it might be a fun game im about to play, 2 tyrants, 3 fex'es, and 15 genestealers (in two squads) at 1500 pts, vs Black Templar.. All CC might just work in a cityfight (go fleshhooks!)
Thanks for the replies :happy:
It doesn't stack. They're only 'being' attacked by one model at a time. I think it's the same as any other ability like that: Attacks directed by that particular creature to a model, or attacks directed to a model from that particular creature, they're treated as having a WS of one less than normal.
well, if it does stack that would be a little wierd, because it says in the rule book, anything with WS 0 has no ability in the area, so if you had 4 TMCs with TM atacking a space marine, he couldnt attack back even with reduced WS
ah, good points that, oh well, TM still helps on the fexes though, hitting on a 3+ is a great thing against space marines.
a shame though, would be fun to actually pull off reducing a marine to WS0
Well, if it can stack, Marines being hit by 2 toxic miasmas require a 5+ to hit a non-ws Tyrant. WS2 requires 5+ to hit WS5. This is why one miasma on a tyrant is so useful against WS3 opponents. Not only are you hitting on 3+, they are hitting on 5+. Adrenal(WS) does NOT do this. WS3 hits WS6 on a 4+.
Nids & Guard
GMail = MVBrandt
Here's what I recently said on the issue of ToxMsm benefiting other Tyranids in the combat. It also applies to stacking as in TM applying to others besides the TM creature itself."Any creature", which I interpret as model, "being attacked by, or directing its attacks towards, a Tyranid with Toxic Miasma".
The simplest interpretation is that whenever a model attacks or defends against the TM creature, the WS is affected in these two specific cases. Example:
Space Marines in combat with a Zoan and a brood of Gaunts.
When SM roll to-hit Zoan or when the Zoan rolls to-hit SM, TM applies.
When SM roll to-hit Gaunts or when the Gaunts roll to-hit SM, TM does not apply regarless of which models it affected when the Zoan attacks/is attacked)
In an equal-Init situation it does look a bit odd, but the problem arises specifically in mixed-Init situations.
If you expand the models affected, then I see a problem in figuring out when the TM effects apply, as you can't really know what models the TM 'Nid is attacking before its Init step, and the opponent can just choose not to attack the TM creature in order to avoid it. And are all the models in the killzone potentially attacked or potential attackers? Also, majority WS can play havoc either for or against the 'Nids. As such, I'm sticking with the simpler interpretation as I personally feel that is GW's intent with 4thEd. If GW wanted it to apply to other friendly 'Nids in the combat, they would've said so clearly as in the case of Feeding Tendrils. Well, probably... X)
Besides, if my opponent wants to be really picky and make it an issue, they could try to argue that their models aren't "creatures". ^_^;
"The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all biomatter consumed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be devoured."